Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
What a delicious recipe! I love using the tofu to make the chowder so creamy--a great way to make a corn carb dish gain some protein and healthful soy. I just took this to my office holiday potluck and the raving didn't stop. I wished I could have claimed the recipe. I'm 100% there with the common comment that 1 Teaspoon of red pepper flakes is Plenty. Also, I reserved more of the chunky vegetables & less broth to help preserve the creamiest of consistencies. I used red, yellow & green bell peppers for color. I'm taking it to Christmas dinner this year, too! Thanks for the great chowdah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This was awesome! I had my doubts about the tofu but it really was great! Thick, tasty, and colorful - I kept the skins on the potatoes. The crushed red pepper added just the right kick. Believe me - no one would know it was tofu. I just finished the leftovers today - three days later and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I was really surprised that this soup tasted so good with the tofu. It is a thick, creamy soup and excellent. I reserved 2 cups of the broth and vegetables and it was great. I agree that about 1/2 tablespoon would have been fine in this recipe instead of a whole tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe. I am NOT a vegetarian and I barely even like vegetables, but this got such good reviews that I thought I would try it. It came out creamy and tasty, and the red pepper gave it a nice kick. I took the advice of reducing the red pepper by half....it was still plenty spicy. I made a double batch to share with a friend, and to freeze some. I definitely plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
It was very easy! Very tasty! My 16month old daughter and husband ate it up!! Wasnt sure how they would like it as they are very picky eaters but they couldn't get enough!! I did use Red and Yellow Bell Peppers rather than the green. Added some good color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Great soup! I topped it with sliced green onions and shredded chedder cheese when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This is is a new favorite at our house! The soup is very creamy and filling, you'd never know there's tofu in it. We leave out the red pepper flakes and green peppers and add tons of cracked black pepper...just our personal taste. Best of all it's virtually fat-free! Thanks J.D.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This is a great recipe. I agree that one teaspoon of red pepper flakes is plenty (I'll probably use a little less than a teaspoon next time). I pureed only about half of it to keep some of the texture from the corn and potatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I made this last night and everyone enjoyed it! What a great way to eat tofu. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This was really good. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper for the pepper flakes. It was too much. Also substituted regular tofu for the fat-free because I could not get the fat-free tofu. Only added a total of 10 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States