Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Very good. I made the following minor changes: 1. don't peel the potatoes. 2. don't cook the potatoes that long, just til barely tender, unless you want mush. 3. use less red pepper (see other reviews. 4. used the potato water with a buillion cube added for broth (use more liquid than called for unless you want it really thick). Yum! Great healthy and easy recipe. By the way, one other suggestion is make sure you use SILKEN tofu, I think the problem that other reviewers had with consistency was due to using the wrong kind of tofu. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it yesterday for a dinner party and it was a hit! I used Del Monte canned corn since it doesn't contain any added sugar like a lot of the other brands. If you are concerned about getting the right consistency, scoop out the vegetables first and blend them with the tofu, then blend and add the broth until you get the right consistency. I used a teaspoon of pepper flakes and it was still a little spicy. Thanks a lot for the recipe, and the helpful reviews, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was the first time I had ever made a chowder and I'm so proud of it. It was so quick and easy. I took the advice of others and added a little extra seasons (rosemary/thyme) and less red pepper. I also reserved three cups from the blender. I've always been a huge corn chowder fan but hated the fat and calories. Now I can eat as much as I like! It's also great for my vegan friend! 5 BIG stars on this recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
YUM. I just finished my first bowl. From the other reviews and my own experience, here is what I would change. 1) 1 TBS is way too much red pepper flakes. Use 1/4-1 tsp depending on how spicy you like your food. 2) Reserve at least 4 cups of veggy and broth mix to make sure the soup has texture, unless you like soup with no chunks. 3) Saute the onions and pepper in butter or olive oil first with the red pepper flakes while the potatos are boiling, then add them to the potatos as the recipe says. 4) Make sure you buy silken tofu. Firm tofu does not work well in soups. 5) This does need something else- thyme or rosemary, or another spice of your choosing sauteed with the onion would give it a fuller flavor. 6) I would add more corn- I didn't quite think the 2 cans were enough. 7) More veggie broth (at least 3 cups) Delicious, healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was so hungry for corn chowder, and looked through several "allrecipes" before choosing this one. I enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but the consistency wasn't thick enough for my liking, so I added instant potato flakes. Next time I make it, I will simply add less broth at the end. I also added more seasoning--try a bit of sage for a more savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I was skeptical at first but this recipe is awesome! My housemates wouldn't believe me that this was a vegan, low-fat recipe. I like it so much better than soups with heavy cream. It's really pretty easy too - if you can chop and stir (and have a food processor) you can make it. I didn't peel the potatoes, which makes it a lot easier, and makes the color more interesting. If you're not a vegan, try grating cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
oh my goodness!! loved this recipe! i have made it a few times, and modify it each time. the red bell pepper is super, but any other veggies on hand work! i have also added sausage. fresh herbs are always a nice addition to soups! very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
What a delicious recipe! I love using the tofu to make the chowder so creamy--a great way to make a corn carb dish gain some protein and healthful soy. I just took this to my office holiday potluck and the raving didn't stop. I wished I could have claimed the recipe. I'm 100% there with the common comment that 1 Teaspoon of red pepper flakes is Plenty. Also, I reserved more of the chunky vegetables & less broth to help preserve the creamiest of consistencies. I used red, yellow & green bell peppers for color. I'm taking it to Christmas dinner this year, too! Thanks for the great chowdah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This hit the spot on a cold, rainy evening! I had to modify the recipe a bit, because I didn't have enough green pepper. I used about 1/4 cup green pepper and added a very small jar of diced red pimento. I only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes......can't imagine how hot it would be with a full tablespoon. Next time, I think I will skip the boiling the potatoes in water and just throw everything in with the veggie broth from the start to cook together. Very simple recipe. Low that it was low-fat and had the protein of the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this with only 1 can of vegetable broth because I like a thick chowder. Also I used one can of creamed corn, one whole kernel corn. After cooking we drizzled in a little maple syrup - sounds weird but it tasted great! Gave it a little sweetness, which was nice. I served this to people who would not have eaten it had they known there was tofu in it, they all LOVED IT. This soup was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States