Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Too bland and too thick. Nice idea but wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This recipe was really great! Simple to make, and a great soup for the cold weather. Nice and creamy, with a bit of a kick from the hot pepper flakes. Stores & reheats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it yesterday for a dinner party and it was a hit! I used Del Monte canned corn since it doesn't contain any added sugar like a lot of the other brands. If you are concerned about getting the right consistency, scoop out the vegetables first and blend them with the tofu, then blend and add the broth until you get the right consistency. I used a teaspoon of pepper flakes and it was still a little spicy. Thanks a lot for the recipe, and the helpful reviews, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Yummy! I didn't use silken tofu so it wasn't as creamy as I expected but that was probably just my fault for buying the wrong kind. I love this with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
I was really disappointed with this soup, unfortunately. The tofu, which I normally love, did add a nice creaminess to the soup, but I found the overall texture really unappealing -- not quite thick, not really thin. My corn was super-sweet which turned the soup into a sweet sludge. I like the theory of this soup though, and will probably try the tofu as cream idea again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This was really good. I substituted 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper for the pepper flakes. It was too much. Also substituted regular tofu for the fat-free because I could not get the fat-free tofu. Only added a total of 10 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I made this last night and everyone enjoyed it! What a great way to eat tofu. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
What a delicious recipe! I love using the tofu to make the chowder so creamy--a great way to make a corn carb dish gain some protein and healthful soy. I just took this to my office holiday potluck and the raving didn't stop. I wished I could have claimed the recipe. I'm 100% there with the common comment that 1 Teaspoon of red pepper flakes is Plenty. Also, I reserved more of the chunky vegetables & less broth to help preserve the creamiest of consistencies. I used red, yellow & green bell peppers for color. I'm taking it to Christmas dinner this year, too! Thanks for the great chowdah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This is a great recipe. I agree that one teaspoon of red pepper flakes is plenty (I'll probably use a little less than a teaspoon next time). I pureed only about half of it to keep some of the texture from the corn and potatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This is is a new favorite at our house! The soup is very creamy and filling, you'd never know there's tofu in it. We leave out the red pepper flakes and green peppers and add tons of cracked black pepper...just our personal taste. Best of all it's virtually fat-free! Thanks J.D.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States