Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Great, easy low fat chowder. Great with seafood in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
This chowder is so very good. I had to recommend it to a vegan friend of mine, because she's always looking for new things to make for herself. I followed the instructions for the most part, but like other reviewers, decreased the amount of red pepper to about half - it still has a good amount of punch! I added a green pepper to the mix and used green onion instead of sweet onion. This was easy, and tasty and for a single person (moi) makes for an easy to prepare lunch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I loved this soup and I'm giving it 5 stars despite the fact that I thought 1 tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes was too hot and overpowering. Next time I will use about 1 TEASPOON of flakes or less. However, the consistency of the soup was great. Thick and creamy. I loved all the veggies in it. The best part of the soup was how healthy it was, too. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
not as flavorful as i'd hoped, but it's okay. you really have to like potatoes and corn to like this, and i do. my husband didn't like it at all. i will try to use tofu as a base for a cream soup again, but i won't make this corn variety very often. the bland flavor is not really worth the trouble, and that's why i gave it only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEY HEY MAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Absolutely terrific! We have made this many times now, serving it to many friends (some vegetarian, some not). It's always a hit! Of course, we had to adjust the 1 tablespoon red pepper flakes as we could only guess that was a typo. After several trials, we have settled on using 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. We will be making this in our home for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
this was really amazing. i will make it over and over again; i couln't believe how much like the original this tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I was skeptical at first but this recipe is awesome! My housemates wouldn't believe me that this was a vegan, low-fat recipe. I like it so much better than soups with heavy cream. It's really pretty easy too - if you can chop and stir (and have a food processor) you can make it. I didn't peel the potatoes, which makes it a lot easier, and makes the color more interesting. If you're not a vegan, try grating cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Fabulous!! You would never know that this creamy chowder was so good for you! Very easy to make, extremely tasty, and keeps well and reheats well for leftovers, I could eat it for weeks! A great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving in 2001 - my brother-in-law was skeptical - let's just say he told my sister it was a must for 2002.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Thick, creamy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States