Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Nice creamy soup; very filling1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYBETH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
no flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This soup was excellent! I made a few changes. While the potatoes were cooking, I sauted garlic, onion, and diced green and red peppers in butter and added some ground thyme. I added the cooked potatoes and broth and continued with the recipe. I also increased the broth since I didn't feel like 2 c. was enough. Served with vegetarian BLTs with Nayonnaise - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I've made this creamy, tasty soup twice. Once I added chicken and the next time I added ham. I cut back to 1/2 tsp. of red pepper. It was a hit with my family both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This is the weirdest looking thing I have ever made. It seriously looks like grits. Maybe I bought the wrong kind of Tofu. I couldn't find silken and firm, it was either silken or firm. I bought the firm. Its pretty tasty though, despite the look. I tasted the mixture before I added the tofu and processed it, and I think it was better. It was thin of course like soup, but it was really good. Next time I think I will leave the tofu out and make this as a soup instead of chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Yum! Just tried my first bowl of this chowder, and was very happy with it! The tofu made it so creamy. I might leave a few more vegetables un-pureed next time. I used 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, I might use a bit less next time. I added a clove of garlic as well, hard to tell if it made much of a difference. Overall I would recommend this recipe to anyone! It's tasty, filling, and easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes must be a typo. I love spicy food, and I found 1 teaspoon to be too much. I recommend 1/4-1/2 a teaspoon. Overall, this was really great! I love recipes that include tofu. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Candy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
really delicious. surprised by the creaminess. need to reduce the amount of red pepper; way too much for my taste. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
great idea; i made a few mods that may be helpful. i used red pep flakes (~1/2 tsp), cayenne (~1/2 tsp), & fresh ground blk pep. also used red pep & green onions instead of listed ingredients. added mushrooms & 1/2 small container of heavy cream (helps w/ consistency). i served it to a couple of guys who hate tofu, and they loved it. hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I will not make this again. Although is was much healthier with the tofu, there was not much flavor and it looked like gritz with a few chunks of potato and pepper in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States