Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Great low fat soup! I reserved a little more of the veggies before blending, per the other suggestions. I also added some red and yellow bell peppers for color and some thyme for flavor. If you don't like spicy, you can just add red pepper flakes as desired after cooking. Blended up nice and smooth and was great with some cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Overall, a very good recipe. Like others, I could not find both "firm" and "silken" tofu, so I went with silken. It looked very creamy at first, but it got more grainy the longer it cooked. Maybe I kept it on the stove too long. I also decreased the amout of red pepper, but I added some cumin for a southwest kick. Next time I will try adding some crab meat. The chowder reminds us of a crab corn chowder we love at a local restaurant. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
this recipe beats out the other corn chowder i used to make. the tofu gives it a nice thickness. i left out the red pepper; my boyfriend's not a fan of spicy food. i also left half of the soup unpureed and kept the skin on the potatoes. i was very happy with the results. perfect for a cold night. i'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was so hungry for corn chowder, and looked through several "allrecipes" before choosing this one. I enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but the consistency wasn't thick enough for my liking, so I added instant potato flakes. Next time I make it, I will simply add less broth at the end. I also added more seasoning--try a bit of sage for a more savory flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I've never cooked with tofu before (and am usually not the biggest fan), but the flavor and consistency of this is great! My roommate didn't know what was in it, and when she tried it, she thought it had 20 grams of fat in it. Then I told her what it was and she was shocked! Oh, and I made some slight changes - used chicken broth, and used both green and red peppers. Yum! Nice and spicy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
OH SO GOOOOOOD! This is a wonderful recipe for comfort food without the usual fat content that comes along with it. I added a little more red pepper for some kick. Otherwise, it's perfect the way it is! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
easy and filling. too thick as is. i added an extra cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good recipe but I made a couple of changes. I substituted a red bell pepper for the green, added 4 cloves of garlic, increased the broth to 4 cups, and substituted two habaneros and one jalapeno for the crushed red pepper. Delicious and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
wonderful. i only changed a few things but otherwise it was pretty much the same. i didnt even add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Very good. I made the following minor changes: 1. don't peel the potatoes. 2. don't cook the potatoes that long, just til barely tender, unless you want mush. 3. use less red pepper (see other reviews. 4. used the potato water with a buillion cube added for broth (use more liquid than called for unless you want it really thick). Yum! Great healthy and easy recipe. By the way, one other suggestion is make sure you use SILKEN tofu, I think the problem that other reviewers had with consistency was due to using the wrong kind of tofu. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States