Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was delish and healthy. I pureed the entire batch and everyone in my family loved it. I skipped the tofu because it didn't need any thickening. But thanks for the tip, I can't eat flour so I now I know what to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I wasn't as impressed with this recipe, though I did love the trick of using tofu in place of cream! I used poblanos in place of green peppers, roasting them first. I also used fresh corn, and used water in place of the liquid that would have come from canned. This may have altered the taste. I just wasn't crazy about it. Also - if you like your soups more stew-like, don't puree as much - only puree about a cup or so to havea chunkier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is a simple, delicious, healthy and surprisingly vegan recipe that my entire family loved. I added about 1/2 a cup more of the vegetable broth and took another reviewer's advice and sauteed the vegetables with vegan butter and thyme and a about 3/4 tsp. pepper flakes. I also left more of the vegetables and potatoes out of the blender. I will definitely be making this again. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Use 1/2 the amount of red pepper flakes. Add some fresh ground pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Very simple to make with basic ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is not only my first time cooking with silken tofu but also my first time making a blended soup (was always afraid of splattering it all over the place). I was amazed at how well it turned out. If I really, really pay attention I can kind of taste the slight chalkiness of the tofu but it really doesn't stand out. I had one bowl plain and one with a little sharp cheddar sprinkled top and if I really had to choose, I'd say it was slightly better with the cheddar, but really they were both very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Delicious and low-fat and has protein---very great recipe for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
made this for a lunch party and everyone raved about it. decreased pepper to 1tsp but thought even that was too much (for my toddler). THANK YOU for a great recipe. I love cream soups and can never make any given my daughter is allergic to dairy. This will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Very good and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was the first time I had ever made a chowder and I'm so proud of it. It was so quick and easy. I took the advice of others and added a little extra seasons (rosemary/thyme) and less red pepper. I also reserved three cups from the blender. I've always been a huge corn chowder fan but hated the fat and calories. Now I can eat as much as I like! It's also great for my vegan friend! 5 BIG stars on this recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States