Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This chowder was so creamy and delicious... perfect for a snowy spring day in Colorado! I'm definitely making this again, though I think I'll only use half the pepper flakes next time as it was pretty spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was a very yummy chowder and my kids loved how sweet the corn made it. I did have to add actual cream though but it was only because I had doubled the recipe but had only gotten one pack of tofu. I also ended up adding an additional can of corn at the end so it wasn't just a liquid soup. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe is great. I made it for a dinner party. It was so easy and healthy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Nice combination of sweet and slightly hot. I didn't expect a vegetarian dish to taste so hearty. Added tyme and sage for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
We loved this chowder! It's rich and creamy. Only blended half of the veggies and broth, for a more chunky soup. Used sweet corn cut off the cob and boiled it with the potatoes. Added 1 tbsp of cilantro to finished soup. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I made it exactly as the recipe called for, and it is WONDERFUL. I didn't believe a thick, creamy soup could be healthy until I made this. Easy, healthy, delicious - wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I foolishly added the entire tablespoon of red pepper flakes and the soup is WAY too spicy! I think without the spice it would be really good and very tasty. It was very easy to make, and I will do it again, but will greatly reduce the amount of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
YUM. I just finished my first bowl. From the other reviews and my own experience, here is what I would change. 1) 1 TBS is way too much red pepper flakes. Use 1/4-1 tsp depending on how spicy you like your food. 2) Reserve at least 4 cups of veggy and broth mix to make sure the soup has texture, unless you like soup with no chunks. 3) Saute the onions and pepper in butter or olive oil first with the red pepper flakes while the potatos are boiling, then add them to the potatos as the recipe says. 4) Make sure you buy silken tofu. Firm tofu does not work well in soups. 5) This does need something else- thyme or rosemary, or another spice of your choosing sauteed with the onion would give it a fuller flavor. 6) I would add more corn- I didn't quite think the 2 cans were enough. 7) More veggie broth (at least 3 cups) Delicious, healthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
It turned out great. I want to play with different seasonings and veggies but it was a simple and healthy meal. I made it for a dinner party for people who don't normally eat tofu and they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States