Creamy Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
M I made this for a friend's birthday. Didn't have cream of coconut so I substituted it with a can of coconut milk. The syrup was delicious and only used half of it for a 9x13 sheet of yellow cake. For the frosting I combined vanilla pudding with the whipped frosting and topped it with toasted coconut flakes. Let the cake sit I the fridge overnight. It was so good that my husband (who doesn't like deserts) asked me to make it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Is my first time baking this kind of cake and it was perfect! I brought it to work and they loved it, some people even asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I love this creamy coconut cake! It taste sort of like a coconut pudding:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Really like this one. It's really rich. I froze half and we had it a few weeks after the first half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Moist, delicious, and it really does get better after being in fridge overnight. Even great on the 3rd day. I made many, many small holes atop with a large serving fork. Pour the coconut liquid atop slowly and carefully, trying hard not to let it run over the edges. It needs no whipped cream atop! Instead I made a very light glaze (powdered sugar, tiny bit of milk, and few drops of coconut flavoring,) and put a very thin covering of this on top, after the 12 hr refrigeration. Then divided the 9x13 cake in half and topped each half, while glaze was still damp, with coconut: used toasted sweet coconut on 1/2 and used regular sweetened white coconut on the other. I served it in narrow slices, two of one topping and one of the other, lined up together on a dessert plate, kind of like a slice of Napolitano ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Like so many other reviewers, I omitted the sweetened condensed milk, used a golden butter cake mix and added 1 tsp. coconut extract to the batter. This was great, will definitely be going on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This cake was awesome. I also left out the sweetened condensed milk because I used cream of coconut (reduced fat) as some reviewers mentioned and used a yellow cake mix. I thought I would be in trouble since my cake mix had pudding in it and some reviewers said not to use the kind with pudding, but it turned out delicious. I used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe and used both regular and toasted coconut on top. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I have made this cake several times. Everyone loves it! I like is best with freshly made (lightly sweetened) whipped cream. I do think the cake is best made the night before to allow the coconut cream to soak in. Take it out of the refrigerator a little while before you want to eat it to take the chill off, then add the whipped cream and coconut flakes right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this for my grandma's birthday today. She absolutely loved it, and she's a coconut cake expert! Was also the best one I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly,and it was super easy. Baked in a 9x13 inch glass pan. When looking for the cream of coconut at Walmart, I found it in the alcohol section near the drink mixes (like for a pina colada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I also leave out the sweetened condensed milk as I am lactose-intolerant. No one can tell the difference. My mom is the cook in the family, but she requested I make this for Easter. PS: Coco Real is easier to use than the canned cream of coconut. And a nut pick is as good as a straw for poking the holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States