Creamy Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Really like this one. It's really rich. I froze half and we had it a few weeks after the first half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Moist, delicious, and it really does get better after being in fridge overnight. Even great on the 3rd day. I made many, many small holes atop with a large serving fork. Pour the coconut liquid atop slowly and carefully, trying hard not to let it run over the edges. It needs no whipped cream atop! Instead I made a very light glaze (powdered sugar, tiny bit of milk, and few drops of coconut flavoring,) and put a very thin covering of this on top, after the 12 hr refrigeration. Then divided the 9x13 cake in half and topped each half, while glaze was still damp, with coconut: used toasted sweet coconut on 1/2 and used regular sweetened white coconut on the other. I served it in narrow slices, two of one topping and one of the other, lined up together on a dessert plate, kind of like a slice of Napolitano ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Like so many other reviewers, I omitted the sweetened condensed milk, used a golden butter cake mix and added 1 tsp. coconut extract to the batter. This was great, will definitely be going on my "keeper" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This cake was awesome. I also left out the sweetened condensed milk because I used cream of coconut (reduced fat) as some reviewers mentioned and used a yellow cake mix. I thought I would be in trouble since my cake mix had pudding in it and some reviewers said not to use the kind with pudding, but it turned out delicious. I used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe and used both regular and toasted coconut on top. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I have made this cake several times. Everyone loves it! I like is best with freshly made (lightly sweetened) whipped cream. I do think the cake is best made the night before to allow the coconut cream to soak in. Take it out of the refrigerator a little while before you want to eat it to take the chill off, then add the whipped cream and coconut flakes right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this for my grandma's birthday today. She absolutely loved it, and she's a coconut cake expert! Was also the best one I've ever had! I followed the recipe exactly,and it was super easy. Baked in a 9x13 inch glass pan. When looking for the cream of coconut at Walmart, I found it in the alcohol section near the drink mixes (like for a pina colada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I also leave out the sweetened condensed milk as I am lactose-intolerant. No one can tell the difference. My mom is the cook in the family, but she requested I make this for Easter. PS: Coco Real is easier to use than the canned cream of coconut. And a nut pick is as good as a straw for poking the holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! He doesn't have a sweet tooth but when he took a bite he said it was the best cake he's ever eaten and that it was a keeper! I couldn't find cream of coconut so I just mixed the sweetened condensed milk with coconut milk and used that. It turned out great!! And the sweetness was perfect! I think if I added the cream of coconut, it would've been way too sweet. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
You can NOT go wrong with this cake! It's SUPER easy and delicious every time! A real crowd pleaser!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Super yummy and moist! A huge favorite at my house and for family gatherings! I do agree though that if you use Cream of coconut, leave out the condensed milk. If you use coconut cream, then you need to add the condensed milk for sweetness. I don't use Cool Whip, can't really stand the taste or texture. I either make real whipped cream to put on top or I make a fluffy white frosting. Either way, it gets smothered in coconut! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States