Creamy Clam Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I have used this recipe many times! I do not put the onion juice in. After I drain the clams I add the lemon juice immediately and let it sit for about 3-5 min. (takes away the fishy taste) Other than that this is the recipe that i have been enjoying for years. It's great for entertaining! Kids and seafood haters alike love it! If you don't tell them what's in it they could clean the bowl. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Enete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My family has made this recipe for years with rave reviews everywhere it goes. The only thing you might want to add for a little "kick" is a shake or two of tabasco sauce. Gives it just the right touch to avoid being bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
i have used this recipe but with a few minor changes....without the lemon juice and the onion juice, it is a really good dip. it doesn't last a full day in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I make this dip slightly different. Omit onion juice and use sour cream instead of cream cheese. Top with lots of pepper and seasoned salt. Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corycooks79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a great clam dip recipe. I hadn't had clam dip for years and stumbled across this recipe a few weeks ago. I've made it for the last two football weekend parties and, by popular demand serving it up a third time for Super Bowl 45. I added one additional can of drained clams. When mixing in the clam juice, I liked the consistency reached by adding not quite one full can of the clam juice. A few dashes of Tabasco was also added. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Here's_What's_Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is the basic clam dip recipe I've made for years. Originally found it on the label of the minced clams; now I had to search for it here. I usually make double this amount and make one of the cans of clams CHOPPED, not minced, so there are a mix of larger and smaller chunks. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieDudie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I followed the suggestion to let the clams "marinate" in the lemon juice. No onion juice on hand but a few shakes of Frank's Red Hot Sauce. My "I don't like clam dip" hubby loved it along with our guests. I caught him cleaning the bowl with his finger in the kitchen....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I was looking for a cold, creamy clam dip, and this was delicious. Very easy to make. I have never heard of onion juice, so I didn't use it, but it wasn't missed. I reserved the clam juice, but ended up pouring it out, because it was the perfect consistency without it. Little did I know, that after it sat for a while, it got very thick and I wished I had saved it. I ended up adding a little milk to thin it out, which worked fine. Everyone loved it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Added a little minced onion instead of juice. Made the mistake of draining the clams, blending cream cheese, etc; then adding all the liquid back in. Next time, I'll wait for it to thicken in the refrigerator before adding liquid back. It was good, but too thin. K, 10, liked it. Surprise. Easy, worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
My mom has made this for years and before that, my grandma did ... the only difference is that we add Tobasco too. It's a MUST HAVE at every family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Clams Casino Dip

See how to convert a classic hot appetizer into a tasty chilled dip.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States