Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
way too much milk for the amount of rice used. Was too runny, more like soup consistency. Plus, it was way too sweet. Rice was sticking to the bottom of the pan while cooking, will not waste my time giving it another try. (which took close to an hour to make) I'll keep looking for an edible rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Finally, a rice pudding recipe that explains how to temper the eggs, everyone should know how to do this when making rice pudding!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was nervous about the amounts based on other reviews...saying it didn't thicken. It totally DID! YOU CAN SAFELY USE TINY CHEF'S AMOUNTS! I halved the recipe, and used 5 cups of milk rather than 6, and added 1/2 cup + 2 T. rice. Won't do that again! We like a combo of custard and rice, but wound up with a VERY thick pudding of mostly rice. It still tasted delish! Use a short grain rice, and stir a lot whilst it cooks. (thickens and gets creamy like a risotto) Also, a lot of the water in the milk cooks off if you leave it uncovered whilst the rice is cooking, which helps thicken your pudding. Gotta go for the whole milk and heavy cream. I used only 3 egg yolks, as I do for vanilla pudding. If your eggs and cream are at room temperature they're easier to temper. I threw in a handful of raisins for hubby when I added the tempered mixture, and 2 t. vanilla at the end of cooking. Used all the sugar...after all, it's dessert! I did add cinnamon to rice and milk, as we like it that way. Next time I make this (and there WILL be a next time!) I'll follow your milk and rice ingredients to a T, TINYCHEF. Thanks, and well done, you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
worst rice pudding I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I have to believe that there is an error it the ingredients list somewhere. If you use 3 quarts of milk with one cup of rice there is just no way that this pudding will set. I did try it exactly as written. Even after reading other comments, I just could not get this recipe to work. I thought maybe the recipe meant 3 CUPS of milk instead of 3 QUARTS; but then that still did not sound right, because it calls for 2 cups of sugar which would make it awfully sweet. I have finally given up on this one; which is really too bad, as I wanted to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannywils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pecos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I agree with most that the cinnamon is too much. I added an 1/8 of a tsp with the milk/rice mixture and then added more at the end. My first try came out brown. But very tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
OMG this rice pudding is sooo awesome!!! Thank you so much Tiny Chef!! I had my nephew help me with it and he cant wait to make more with me I changed a few things I only added 1/2 a tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg together while cooking and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added raisins and 1 tsp of Vanilla at the end. I discovered however why the pudding did not thicken for me at first, in the recipe it tells you to reduce the heat to low after it boils. However if you lower it too much it cant thicken properly so watch to make sure that the pudding is still hot during the time that you have it on low otherwise as I found out it will not thicken properly. I hope that this helps those of you who tried at first and failed because this recipe definitely deserves another shot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It came out more slimy than like a custard. Very weird consistency. It's possible I didn't do it right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times. It is always thick and creamy. I have cut down on the cinnamon. I only use 1Tbsp and I add 1tsp of vanilla. Because of the other comments saying to definitely use the heavy cream and whole milk, I do and I've never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucynowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this for dessert for Christmas dinner. Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! I did use 1%milk because that's all we use, and only 1 cup of sugar and it was perfectly sweet for us. I made day before and let sit if fridge overnight. I would strongly recommend making this if you like rice pudding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States