Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We loved this! It was as good as one of our favorite dishes at a Thai restaurant. No changes, except I used lime juice (instead of zest) and I baked it instead of broiled (30 minutes at 350) - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Yummy! I could almost drink this marinade. I used only one serrano chile because of my husband and 2 year old. It was still quite spicy, but all three of us loved it. I am definitely going to try the marinade on shrimp and maybe tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum! This was good, but next time, I'll add more lime or peppers (or something) to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I have to agree with the previous reviewer - the lime/cilantro sauce gets pretty nasty, especially after you have simmered it for 5 mins. I managed to salvage the dish by adding some heavy cream (which, unfortunately, diluted the coconut flavor), and also snipping some fresh cilantro over it before serving (which, Husband said, made it a 4 star recipe) but I would not make this again. Thanks, anyhoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with 8 thighs too. I doubled everything for the sauce except the sugar because I like gravy and so did my guests. It was GREAT. It is so easy because you can throw all the ingredients in the processor rather than chop it by hand. I was running out of time to grate the lime zest, so instead a squeezed the juice from one lime into the sauce - it was really quite good. My guests and my husband RAVED about it. Also, my broiler doesn't work, so I baked the chicken at 350 for about 30 min. after marinating (but boiling the sauce separately as the recipe indicates).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is fabulous. I modified it a little- added some scallions and a little more ginger, and I used lime juice instead of zest, and I used dried cilantro instead of fresh. I also added more coconut milk. It was fantastic. Tastes just like it came from a restaurant. Everyone loved it, even my picky boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I am not sure if I bought the wrong kind of coconut milk, but this was not good at all. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really good recipe. I marinated 8 boneless chicken thighs, instead of just 4. Then, at the end, I added 1/4 cup of coconut milk and 1/4 tsp of soy sauce to the simmering sauce. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This recipe is amazing! I was out of white sugar, so used brown sugar. It was great. My husband thinks this is the best recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed the sauce in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly with the addition of one green onion and a chipotle in adobo instead of Serrano. After cooking the sauce off, I had to resist the urge to drink it up! It was so good! After the chicken cooked, I poured the pan juices into the sauce and cooked a little while longer. That made the sauce even better! Served it all with brown rice so i could use all the sauce. I'm not sure what people did wrong who didn't enjoy this recipe... I also don't understand the picture for this recipe because the sauce is a very dark green when finished.. Hmm. My next time making this will be with tofu instead of chicken! Thank you for this simple and delicious new sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States