Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This recipe is amazing! I was out of white sugar, so used brown sugar. It was great. My husband thinks this is the best recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really good recipe. I marinated 8 boneless chicken thighs, instead of just 4. Then, at the end, I added 1/4 cup of coconut milk and 1/4 tsp of soy sauce to the simmering sauce. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with 8 thighs too. I doubled everything for the sauce except the sugar because I like gravy and so did my guests. It was GREAT. It is so easy because you can throw all the ingredients in the processor rather than chop it by hand. I was running out of time to grate the lime zest, so instead a squeezed the juice from one lime into the sauce - it was really quite good. My guests and my husband RAVED about it. Also, my broiler doesn't work, so I baked the chicken at 350 for about 30 min. after marinating (but boiling the sauce separately as the recipe indicates).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was a big hit! My son said that he thought all of the different flavors in the sauce were going to be "weird", but they went together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I am not sure if I bought the wrong kind of coconut milk, but this was not good at all. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was good and easy. I didn't have sorreno peppers, so I used jalapenos. The taste was mild, but good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We loved this! It was as good as one of our favorite dishes at a Thai restaurant. No changes, except I used lime juice (instead of zest) and I baked it instead of broiled (30 minutes at 350) - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
As excited as I was to try this I was equally disappointed. After reading the reviews I decided to marinate overnight which did give the chicken an infused cilantro flavor but the sauce - just throw it out, trust me, it was bitter and beyond saving. We did save the chicken (which cooked beautifully under the broiler by the way) by adding a little butter and salt after placing atop white rice. My boyfriend said don't bother trying this one again and I agree, he did eat it but... I've had much better success with Cilantro Lime chicken by just marinating chicken in 1/4c olive oil, 1/4 cup fresh lime juice & cilantro (chopped handful) overnight then grilling. You could always add chopped serranos for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I have to agree with the previous reviewer - the lime/cilantro sauce gets pretty nasty, especially after you have simmered it for 5 mins. I managed to salvage the dish by adding some heavy cream (which, unfortunately, diluted the coconut flavor), and also snipping some fresh cilantro over it before serving (which, Husband said, made it a 4 star recipe) but I would not make this again. Thanks, anyhoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum! This was good, but next time, I'll add more lime or peppers (or something) to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States