Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
pretty good stuff. Very easy. I loved the sauce... I'm considering making much more of the sauce to pour over noodles or rice and the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I can't believe I made such a delicious dish! My user name is Cooking Impaired for a reason! I have certainly impressed myself! I followed a review and only added 1 TBS of ginger root instead of 2 and it was still wonderful. This recipe is a keeper! It certainly does have a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
We enjoyed this dish. I try not to change recipes on the first try but sometimes ingredients or preferences interfere. My biggest problems with almost all recipes is they do not have veggies in them. So, to incorporate some summer squash, and also because once long ago I was a saute cook in NY, I made some small changes. First I sauteed summer squash in olive oil with onions (4 saucer squash and 1/3 of an onion) in olive oil after dusting with flour to coat. Browned a little, then removed from heat and spread on half cookie sheet, placed in oven which was hot from another dish, but now turned off. Added more oil to skillet, and then sauteed chicken with all marinade, covering for a bit to steam the chicken. When sauce was reduced to a thick sauce, mixed in warm squash and onions. Plated chicken pieces with leftover rice and arugula covered with sauce (always double sauce- you will never regret it!), along with a warm white bean balsamic salad. It was very tasty! Next time I will add a little salt, and a little lime juice at the end of the reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Made tonight and Husband said, "this sauce is divine!" Used juice of two limes, one 4 oz can of Fire Roasted Green Chiles and chicken breasts. Every thing else as written. Really good! Served with brorn rice, sauteed fresh squash sliced and Avacado/Spinach leaf salad. Will definitly serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
The best recipe I have found on this site! Delicious! Just the right amount of spice. I boiled some brown rice and threw in some of the left over coconut milk and a teaspoon or two of sugar and served the chicken with the lightly sweetened rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe - I left out the chilis since I don't enjoy spicy. My husband really like it, and he's a meat n taters kind of guy. I added half of the lime's juice, marinated it an extra half hour, and ended up adding a bit more coconut milk w.a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up when making the sauce. I will make this again! A creamy, no dairy sauce is heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adelyria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made a version almost the same as thins… I usually use 1 jalapeno instead of 2 Serrano peppers and only ½ tbsp of sugar. I dice up chicken breasts and after marinating, put them on skewers and BBQ them over medium heat for about 5 min per side (I save a little of the marinade and baste them once when I turn them over). They are delicious! I usually use low fat coconut milk so it’s a really healthy recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was an excellent recipe. I made changes due to what I had on hand. I only had about a 1/2 cup of light coconut milk and jalapeno peppers and no lime juice. I had to use lime powder. It was the only thing I had and I was glad I had that. Due to lack of liquid, I added chicken broth to the marinade only when it was time to cook. I let it marinate over night and my son declared it was the best chicken he's ever had. We like spicy food. The sweetness of the coconut and the cilantro and lime were divine. Thank you for posting. I will be making this as often as possible, hopefully, with the proper amount of ingredients. I served this with Quinoa with Asian Flavors on this site to which I added chopped carrots and slivered toasted almonds. Good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great change of pace for when you are in the mood for spicy chicken. My husband LOVED this recipe. I exchanged the coconut milk for almond milk and it turned really flavorful. I also used sugar in the raw instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed the sauce in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly with the addition of one green onion and a chipotle in adobo instead of Serrano. After cooking the sauce off, I had to resist the urge to drink it up! It was so good! After the chicken cooked, I poured the pan juices into the sauce and cooked a little while longer. That made the sauce even better! Served it all with brown rice so i could use all the sauce. I'm not sure what people did wrong who didn't enjoy this recipe... I also don't understand the picture for this recipe because the sauce is a very dark green when finished.. Hmm. My next time making this will be with tofu instead of chicken! Thank you for this simple and delicious new sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States