Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This pasta dish turned out to be surprisingly delicious. It had many unusual, aromatics ingredients that I found oddly paired, but tasty. I modified the recipe to include 2 jalapeños lieu of serranos. I also cooked the sauce and added it to pasta separately with additional crushed chili peppers, salt, and black pepper. Served chicken on top. Looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cmrees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Surprisingly tastie, 2yr old loved the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe was sooo good! My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed it. Changes I made were: 1. Peppers (see below) 2. Topped with some scallions at the end (good, but certainly not necessary). 3. The photo shows pasta, but I used medium-grain brown rice (easier to absorb the marinade than the pasta). It worked well--I would suggest white or brown rice instead of pasta. 4. Chicken breasts instead of thighs. 5. Squeezed the lime in the marinade in addition to the zest. (The changes sound like a lot, but they are minor, and certainly optional). For those of you who don't want anything too spicy, I would suggest using half of a jalapeno pepper instead of the two serranos. I used one whole large (de-seeded) jalapeno, and it was still a bit too spicy. Really, the spiciness was the only issue. I'm not sure what happened with the folks who gave it one or two stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Such a great recipe! I'm Vegetarian and turn the marinade into a soup! I make it at least twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent dish, and a great way to use up leftover cilantro. I read through the reviews before starting, and decided to double the sauce recipe. I doubled everything except the serranos and the chicken. The result was a very flavourful dish with just the right amount of kick! I used boneless chicken breast cut into 1-inch chunks, threaded them onto skewers and grilled them on the BBQ. The result was fantastic! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious! I put the chicken in a Crockpot and added all the ingredients without blending. Cooked 5 hours, removed chicken and used an immersion blender to puree sauce. Mixed the remaining coconut milk (leftover in can) with a bit of cornstarch to thicken, and added it to make more sauce. Served it on top of homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious,I stuck with the recipe as is. I would recommend doubling the sauce if you're going to add pasta or rice to this. Was too spicy for some, I will half the amount of serrano peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I gave this 4 stars at first because, out of laziness, I used cilantro that came in a squeeze tube. Made it with fresh cilantro and it made a huge difference! I baked chicken breast and used only 1 pepper. I also used light coconut milk. Turned out great! I find that you have to constantly stir the sauce or else it will turn yucky. I served it with nasi lemak (coconut rice) and some sambal chili. IMO this side makes the whole thing 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was awesome. Loved the sweet/spicy combination. Served with cilantro rice and used leftover marinade as a gravy for the rice and chicken. Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
pretty good stuff. Very easy. I loved the sauce... I'm considering making much more of the sauce to pour over noodles or rice and the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States