Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is fabulous. I modified it a little- added some scallions and a little more ginger, and I used lime juice instead of zest, and I used dried cilantro instead of fresh. I also added more coconut milk. It was fantastic. Tastes just like it came from a restaurant. Everyone loved it, even my picky boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Yummy! I could almost drink this marinade. I used only one serrano chile because of my husband and 2 year old. It was still quite spicy, but all three of us loved it. I am definitely going to try the marinade on shrimp and maybe tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This has fantastic flavor and was fairly easy to make as well. My picky, spice-loving in-laws will really like this! Lots of flavor, and kind of an unusual combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed the sauce in this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly with the addition of one green onion and a chipotle in adobo instead of Serrano. After cooking the sauce off, I had to resist the urge to drink it up! It was so good! After the chicken cooked, I poured the pan juices into the sauce and cooked a little while longer. That made the sauce even better! Served it all with brown rice so i could use all the sauce. I'm not sure what people did wrong who didn't enjoy this recipe... I also don't understand the picture for this recipe because the sauce is a very dark green when finished.. Hmm. My next time making this will be with tofu instead of chicken! Thank you for this simple and delicious new sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is SO good!!! My boyfriend and I loved it. All of the flavors go so well together. One of the best recipes I've gotten from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This recipe is amazing! I was out of white sugar, so used brown sugar. It was great. My husband thinks this is the best recipe on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was great, I made a few changes to suit what I had though. No peppers so I used chili pepper flakes as well as extra coconut milk and some chicken stock. I then boiled or poached the chicken in the liquid for 20 minutes (I used the breast) and broiled it in the oven for an additional 10. I reduced the sauce and added a little extra sugar. My boyfriend adored the sauce and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I tried this recipe with 8 thighs too. I doubled everything for the sauce except the sugar because I like gravy and so did my guests. It was GREAT. It is so easy because you can throw all the ingredients in the processor rather than chop it by hand. I was running out of time to grate the lime zest, so instead a squeezed the juice from one lime into the sauce - it was really quite good. My guests and my husband RAVED about it. Also, my broiler doesn't work, so I baked the chicken at 350 for about 30 min. after marinating (but boiling the sauce separately as the recipe indicates).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We loved this! It was as good as one of our favorite dishes at a Thai restaurant. No changes, except I used lime juice (instead of zest) and I baked it instead of broiled (30 minutes at 350) - delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was a big hit! My son said that he thought all of the different flavors in the sauce were going to be "weird", but they went together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States