Creamy Cilantro Chicken with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Loved this but it didn't have much kick...nice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee Matlock Lockart
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Have made this 3 times for different people to rave reviews each time. Based on website reviews, I made 4 changes to the original recipe that I am very happy with: 1. For about 1 lbs chicken, double the sauce recipe which conveniently turns out to be 1 can of coconut milk. With the extra sauce, serve with jasmine rice- perfect. 2. Add 2 tsp lime juice rather than lime zest. Do this at the end after sauce is cooked, to prevent bitterness some people mentioned in the marinade. 3. Adding 1 bunch chopped scallions at the end gave great flavor. 4. I used chicken tenderloins which I pan sauteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avestby
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this exactly except the first time I did lime juice instead of zest. Second time I grilled chicken breast on the barb turned out fantAstic each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This pasta dish turned out to be surprisingly delicious. It had many unusual, aromatics ingredients that I found oddly paired, but tasty. I modified the recipe to include 2 jalapeños lieu of serranos. I also cooked the sauce and added it to pasta separately with additional crushed chili peppers, salt, and black pepper. Served chicken on top. Looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cmrees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Surprisingly tastie, 2yr old loved the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe was sooo good! My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed it. Changes I made were: 1. Peppers (see below) 2. Topped with some scallions at the end (good, but certainly not necessary). 3. The photo shows pasta, but I used medium-grain brown rice (easier to absorb the marinade than the pasta). It worked well--I would suggest white or brown rice instead of pasta. 4. Chicken breasts instead of thighs. 5. Squeezed the lime in the marinade in addition to the zest. (The changes sound like a lot, but they are minor, and certainly optional). For those of you who don't want anything too spicy, I would suggest using half of a jalapeno pepper instead of the two serranos. I used one whole large (de-seeded) jalapeno, and it was still a bit too spicy. Really, the spiciness was the only issue. I'm not sure what happened with the folks who gave it one or two stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Such a great recipe! I'm Vegetarian and turn the marinade into a soup! I make it at least twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent dish, and a great way to use up leftover cilantro. I read through the reviews before starting, and decided to double the sauce recipe. I doubled everything except the serranos and the chicken. The result was a very flavourful dish with just the right amount of kick! I used boneless chicken breast cut into 1-inch chunks, threaded them onto skewers and grilled them on the BBQ. The result was fantastic! We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hirota

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious! I put the chicken in a Crockpot and added all the ingredients without blending. Cooked 5 hours, removed chicken and used an immersion blender to puree sauce. Mixed the remaining coconut milk (leftover in can) with a bit of cornstarch to thicken, and added it to make more sauce. Served it on top of homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious,I stuck with the recipe as is. I would recommend doubling the sauce if you're going to add pasta or rice to this. Was too spicy for some, I will half the amount of serrano peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States