Creamy Chocolate Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe is awesome! Just made it. It was simple, easy, and delicious! I have made other recipes and spend all this time sifting the sugar and measuring out everything. With this recipe the marshmallows are the sugar. Besides being easy, it tasted great! This is the new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...SOOOO GOOD! Nice, fluffy and chocolately, without being heavy or too rich. This time I used a prepared graham cracker crust, but want to try it w/ a regular pie crust next time. I topped the finished pie w/ more whipped cream, chocolate sprinkles and mini choco. chips. HUGE HIT...This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was melt in your mouth goodness! Simple to make, I used homemade pie crust. This is light, and not overly rich like you think it is going to be. Wonderful pie! We truly enjoyed this for it's yumminess!Thanks Recipe group on voting for this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group week of 2/9/13. Made my own crust. Chocolate, marshmallows and milk all melted very nicely. Heavy cream whipped up great and the folding of the two together was easy. I poured it in and had much leftover in bowl.I used an 8" pie plate. So I would def. use a bigger one like the recipe says may even go to a 10". The recipe as is with no addition on the top I thought was nice. Some whipped cream on the top and your good to go. I then added some caramel and mini chips on top but because the mousse was heaped so well alot of the caramel slid down-not so good for presentation purposes. I sliced it and after 1 minute on plate my crust couldn't take the pressure and the side/crust bent back and then the mousse filling spread out a little. Again not a good presentation. So I would suggest sticking with a very light addition to the top like previous members did. The mousse had a chocolate flavor but not WOW. Came out much like any other chocolate/whip cream pie I have ever made. I would make again if I knew I had the ingredients and needed to make something. Otherwise it would not be a recipe I would buy the stuff to make again because I had to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have made this twice this month, and it's soooo good! I've been looking for pie recipes that don't ask for instant pudding mix. I used a 1.5 cup of semi-sweet morsels. Thank you for this "few ingredient" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very good recipe! I prefer to use dark chocolate, though, instead of the milk chocolate so it's not too sweet. For a mint version, I have used half dark chocolate and half Andes mints for the candy. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
It was absolutely fantastic. I loved how rich and creamy it was. I made it for Thanksgiving for my family and it was the absolute favorite. Everyone was a big fan. I had a little leftover after I filled my pie crust so I put it into a custard cup with a little cool whip flourish and a chocolate sauce drizzle and gave it to my mom and she loved it. This is a recipe I will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I'm literally making this *right* now and love the recipe already. I decided upon a blind-baked regular pastry crust, however I can see the potential for a graham cracker or even chocolate cracker crust in the future. I've been using mini-marshmallows this season as part of an easy chocolate fudge recipe, so it was convenient to use them for sweetening and consistency. I decided immediately to use Ghiradelli semi-sweet chips (measured 7oz) as we are darker chocolate fans. The filling is so yummy after you fold in the heavy cream that it's hard not to eat. I had extra because the crust was small so my children enjoyed a light and airy mousse that I could totally serve in pretty cups for dessert as is. I'm planning to make a little more whipped cream and garnish with shaved dark chocolate. If this pie sets up well, it's going to be my GO-TO chocolate pie recipe for good. Fingers crossed and the 5 stars will stay. And if it doesn't, I'll still leave 4 stars purely for the immediate light mousse dessert option! Update: It set up perfectly because it's so light and fluffy. I added a dollop of whipped cream and drizzled melted chocolate over it and it was a HIT. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It is delicious. I am going to make for my family tomorrow on new years day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States