Creamy Chocolate Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very good recipe! I prefer to use dark chocolate, though, instead of the milk chocolate so it's not too sweet. For a mint version, I have used half dark chocolate and half Andes mints for the candy. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was a Recipe Group selection; and while it is easy to make, it missed the 5 star rating for me! Before I whipped the cream, I placed my mixing bowl and beater into the freezer for about 15 minutes in order for them to be chilled. I used a pre-made Oreo chocolate pie crust. I also used chocolate/vanilla Kraft marshmallows. My candy bar was chocolate with almonds and I put the candy bar into the food processor and pulsed until finely chopped. For my decorations, I cut miniature marshmallows into flower shaped petals and used a yellow M & M in the center - creating daisies. The pie was light and fluffy with a definite chocolate flavor. When I first read the recipe, I noted there was not any sugar added to the heavy whipping cream and pondered adding a couple tablespoons of powdered sugar. I wish that I had followed my instinct and added the powdered sugar to the heavy whipping cream as I think this would have made a much better pie. The pie sliced and served beautifully. I will make this pie again and add the sugar and perhaps some espresso powder. Thanks for sharing cookerboy222!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It is delicious. I am going to make for my family tomorrow on new years day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group to take to work to share for Valentine's Day, 2013. I made a milk chocolate version, and a Special Dark version. I liked them both - not sure I could pick a favorite... I read "alow mixture to cool completely," and was trying to figure that into my schedule. What I did was to make the chocolate mixture when I got home from work, late at night. I let it cool a bit, stirring occasionally. I noticed a "skin" forming, so I covered it directly with plastic wrap, and went to bed. In the morning, I whipped my cream [first time!!!] and then beat in the chocolate. It worked just fine (= I thought I screwed up my second pie, when I did not rinse the beaters in between. I didn't see a point, when I was basically mixing the same things together, again. But the cream took a LOT longer to stiffen the second time, and I thought I'd blown it. It worked fine ~whew!~ I did use one Keebler shortbread crust, and one graham cracker crust. I think this would be really good with a pastry crust - but whipping cream was enough of a challenge for this cook this week (= My co-workers enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a keeper worthy of TEN STARS! I used a store bought graham cracker crust, any would be good. I can see the filling in little cups for a lighter no crust version. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have made this twice this month, and it's soooo good! I've been looking for pie recipes that don't ask for instant pudding mix. I used a 1.5 cup of semi-sweet morsels. Thank you for this "few ingredient" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Goodness in a pie! I used the mini graham crust and made 6 little pies and had enough left over for a little glass and a container for hubby to take to work too. I used an assortment of milk and dark chocolate bars (thanks to Molly for the Ft Wayne bars!), dark chocolate chips, and semi sweet chips. I chilled my beaters and the bowl before whipping the cream and my little hand mixer with the whips beat that up in no time flat! I did taste it and decided to add a bit of powdered sugar. I piped the filling into the mini tins and then just a shot of canned whipped cream and some chocolate sprinkles on top. So light, creamy, and chocolatey goodness. What could be better?! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was melt in your mouth goodness! Simple to make, I used homemade pie crust. This is light, and not overly rich like you think it is going to be. Wonderful pie! We truly enjoyed this for it's yumminess!Thanks Recipe group on voting for this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...SOOOO GOOD! Nice, fluffy and chocolately, without being heavy or too rich. This time I used a prepared graham cracker crust, but want to try it w/ a regular pie crust next time. I topped the finished pie w/ more whipped cream, chocolate sprinkles and mini choco. chips. HUGE HIT...This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States