Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great taste and consistency, but it's recipes like this that keep me from trying to make stuff on my own versus just buying it. Cream the butter, alternate small amounts of sugar and milk, then vanilla, then beat again. Pah. I threw everything into one bowl, then used the hand mixer, only took 5 minutes. It is wonderful, which is amazing for me, because usually anything I try to make (especially for the first time) turns out to be a disaster. I will be making this -- instead of buying it -- anytime I want chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
It was amazing! I only put 2 cups of confectioners sugar. I use it all the time! I really recommend it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronia Bailey
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe mine came out awesome, I used it to frost my home made brownies. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronia Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I actually just realized that I used sweetened condensed milk instead of evap milk (duh)... Lol, even still, it was very tasty, but I did have to add milk to thin it out (I'll blame the sweetened cond milk for the thickness). Next time I will try it with the correct ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I substituted 2% milk for evaporated milk, because that is what I had on hand. I also used Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa powder. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted amazing. I made it to ice 24 cupcakes and it fell short by 4. I added an extra tbsp of milk halfway through to help with the piping consistency. It tastes very fresh and creamy. Goes great with French vanilla boxed cupcakes. Hubby loved it! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
made this recipe as written on 1/22/15 and it is as close to chocolate frosting perfection as I have ever tasted. this is my chocolate frosting recipe from now on thank you for sharing this wonderful an easy recipe I do not believe it will get any better than this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Excellent, simple chocolate frosting! This is a great frosting with ingredients I usually have on hand. Simple to make and great taste. Everyone love it! I followed the recipe but added 1/3 more of each item to use a full stick of butter (8 tbsp). This was a generous amount for a two layer 9 inch cake. I'll definitely use this over can frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is an excellent quick frosting for cakes, brownies, or cupcakes. I made it exactly as written except I did add about 1/2 tsp. of salt. For some reason, in my opinion, this seems to cut the bitterness of the cocoa powder and brings out the sweetness instead. This is so much better than the tub frostings you buy at the grocery store. I used the amounts listed for a 13x9 inch pan of brownies. I doubled it for a 9" layer cake. It was wonderful and I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Best and easiest chocolate icing I have ever made, I have done hundreds of cakes and I usually stay away from chocolate frosting, they all were to fake tasting, I didn't like them. This one is a keeper and easier to do in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I have never had any luck with frosting. for some reason I always end up with weird frosting, adding more of one thing or another trying to get it to come out right. this recipe is so easy I made it with my kids and ended up with creamy, chocolatey frosting. Doubled the recipe and frosted 30 cupcakes with leftover. We did not change anything about the recipe except for doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States