Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Pretty good. A little too sweet for my taste so I added a pinch of salt also a bit more powder sugar to make a firmer consistency. I used it to fill a 6 in. And 10 in. Round layer cake. I highly doubt that there would be enough to frost an 8 in layer cake unless you just cut a single 8in cake in half. I would definitely double the recipe if you want a normal amount of frosting on your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Just made this to frost my Chocolate Truffle cake. I gave it 4 stars because it was Really, Really sugary sweet with a harsh edge to the cocoa flavor. Too sugary, said my KIDS, lol, so you know it's pretty sweet! I used cream instead of evaporated milk, and real butter because it's simply the Best flavor out there! Next time I will use a bit less powdered sugar and add a pinch or two of salt to cut the sweetness, and add more vanilla to mellow it out a bit more. Oh, and I doubled the recipe to frost my 13 x 9 cake and it made a LOT - there was more frosting than cake in the pan, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I thought this was ok but my friend loved it. I did need to add more confectioners sugar. But it was for sure better than the store bought stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I recently took a baking class and am always looking for new frosting recipes to try. This recipe creates a frosting with a consistency that is perfect for piping! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Absolutely fantastic (I used half sugar/half Stevia). Spreads great and tastes like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemia Laval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Super delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I had to use heavy whipping cream because I didn't have the canned milk, but other than that, or in spite of it, it's great and enough to frost a 9 inch round, single layer cake. In spite of the sugar, it actually wasn't overly sweet to me, but kind of has a mocha flavor. I think I'm done with canned frosting. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good frosting but I could tell it was made with cocoa. Something about the texture was not as creamy as I'd hoped. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was exactly what I was looking for! Much better than store-bought. I used whole milk, instead of the evaporated milk, because that is what I had. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My first time ever making chocolate frosting and it was delicious. Used it on doughnuts I made. Everyone enjoyed and so much better than store bought and nice and creamy. Definitely will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States