Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I substituted 2% milk for evaporated milk, because that is what I had on hand. I also used Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa powder. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted amazing. I made it to ice 24 cupcakes and it fell short by 4. I added an extra tbsp of milk halfway through to help with the piping consistency. It tastes very fresh and creamy. Goes great with French vanilla boxed cupcakes. Hubby loved it! Adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
made this recipe as written on 1/22/15 and it is as close to chocolate frosting perfection as I have ever tasted. this is my chocolate frosting recipe from now on thank you for sharing this wonderful an easy recipe I do not believe it will get any better than this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Excellent, simple chocolate frosting! This is a great frosting with ingredients I usually have on hand. Simple to make and great taste. Everyone love it! I followed the recipe but added 1/3 more of each item to use a full stick of butter (8 tbsp). This was a generous amount for a two layer 9 inch cake. I'll definitely use this over can frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is an excellent quick frosting for cakes, brownies, or cupcakes. I made it exactly as written except I did add about 1/2 tsp. of salt. For some reason, in my opinion, this seems to cut the bitterness of the cocoa powder and brings out the sweetness instead. This is so much better than the tub frostings you buy at the grocery store. I used the amounts listed for a 13x9 inch pan of brownies. I doubled it for a 9" layer cake. It was wonderful and I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Best and easiest chocolate icing I have ever made, I have done hundreds of cakes and I usually stay away from chocolate frosting, they all were to fake tasting, I didn't like them. This one is a keeper and easier to do in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I have never had any luck with frosting. for some reason I always end up with weird frosting, adding more of one thing or another trying to get it to come out right. this recipe is so easy I made it with my kids and ended up with creamy, chocolatey frosting. Doubled the recipe and frosted 30 cupcakes with leftover. We did not change anything about the recipe except for doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I hadn't made frosting before. Needed something quick. So easy & tasted just sweet & chocolate enough for brownies. May make a double batch next time to give a thick cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Used this for cupcakes and it was really good! Not sure why but after the frosted cupcakes sat in the fridge overnight the flavor was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Yum, yum, yum! I made this frosting for my son's 2 year old mini cake and he loved it and so did we! I used whole milk instead of condensed milk and it was still great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe is foolproof and delicious. Tonight we didn't have cocoa powder or evaporated milk, so we used coffee creamer and hot chocolate powder and it was still amazing!!!! What a fantastic frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States