Creamy Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Good...used 2% milk, and half n half. Upped the liquid by a lot to get it to come together. I forgot about creaming butter n sugar in the beginning...dumped everything in and started mixing on my mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I have made this several times and it's great. It also is a very versatile recipe. I've made it as is, I've made it adding a 1/2 Tablespoon of instant coffee. Have substituted the evaporated milk with sour cream. Have used almond extract in place of vanilla. All turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Having not read the reviews beforehand, I'm surprised to see others thought it lacking in chocolate flavor. I found it absolutely delicious and plenty chocolatey! I substituted half and half for the evaporated milk (since I had none on hand) and it was perfectly smooth and creamy and was easy to pipe onto my filled cupcakes. Next time I will certainly double the batch and I was short on frosting just 24 cupcakes with the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I followed recipe exactly but increased quantities 1-1/2 times per suggestion of another reviewer to frost a two-layer round cake. The quantity made was just right, with a little bit leftover in the bowl to be eaten up by the baker (me). A couple of comments: 1) I used Nestle Toll House Cocoa Powder. I felt the flavor was a bit weak, so will probably try other cocoa powders to see if that will help in the future. My advice based on today is don't be afraid to add 1-2 Tbsp. more of cocoa powder. 2) This makes a fluffy consistency frosting and gets fluffier the more it is beaten. I was able to spread it on the cake with just a rubber spatula, leaving nice looking swirls. 3) Be sure to add ingredients slowly and alternate liquid/dry. Be sure to use salted butter and that it is room-temp, even a bit on the warm, left-on-the-counter-overnight-consistency and you'll get even better results. 4) Another reviewer also noted to decrease the amount of vanilla. for my 1-1/2 recipe, 1 tsp. would have been enough. I agree with other reviewers that this is not an overly-sweet recipe - perhaps because it whips up so much. It is a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bdmccarthy
Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Easy and delicious, and the ingredients are things I usually have on hand. I did use milk instead of the evaporated milk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This is hands down the best frosting ever! My sister in law and my youngest request me to use this frosting for their birthday cakes. If you messed this up, you didn't follow the directions. You cant just throw everything in and mix it, it doesn't come out the same. Follow the directions and I recommend doubling this recipe for one batch of cupcakes or for a full cake. I will never use another chocolate frosting after using this now for the past 2 years. Two thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Perfect, perfect perfect chocolate frosting recipe. I added a touch more confectioners sugar to make the frosting a little more stiff, as I was piping it onto my cupcakes, but other than that, didn't change a thing. My batch frosted about 15 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Dangerously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Good frosting but a little too sweet for my taste. I increased the servings to 16 and used the frosting to frost the tops of two 8x8 cakes. I used Earth Balance in place of butter and soy milk instead of evaporated milk to make the frosting non-dairy. I reduced the confectioner's sugar to 3 cups and added the soy milk one tablespoon at a time to get the consistency I wanted -- the frosting was a tad too thick with 4 tbsp but a little too runny with 5 tbsp of soy milk -- I'm guessing 4 tbsp and 1 tsp would be about right. If you want a recipe with a higher cocoa powder to confectioner's sugar ratio, you may want to try the frosting from the Extreme Chocolate Cake recipe (the cake is very good too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I'm not a huge chocolate frosting lover but this turned out fabulous... Very rich and creamy and the recipe made more than enough to frost the top of an 8 x 13 crazy cake (recipe from this site... Which is also delicious!). I used 1% milk because that's what I had on hand and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States