Creamy Chocolate Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I sifted the powdered sugar first since I've previously used unsifted sugar and couldn't get the lumps out. I needed less than the 1/4 cup of water to get the right consistance for my tube pan cake. The icing has a shiny look and a fabulous taste. This will be my new favorite chocolate frosting! If you're making a layer cake I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I thought this frosting was just OK. It was very easy to make which is a plus but it set very quickly and became very hard. I guess I prefer a creamier frosting. Maybe I should have added even more water. I also thought the taste veered towards sugary sweet rather than chocolatey. I would make it again in a pinch but wouldn't be my go to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great base recipe. I just made a few changes after reading other reviews. I used 3 squares of chocolate, then instead of adding all 2 cups of sugar at once, I added one cup, then slowly added the water. Then I added more sugar until I got the taste I wanted, worked out to about 1 1/2 cups. The full 2 cups would have been way to sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Be careful. I got it to the consistency I wanted which was not too runny but a little fluffy, and I was quick to put it on the cake but it was setting before I could finish icing the cake, which meant it stuck to the knife and my fingers and not the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan D-H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is a fabulous, yummy frosting that works very well on cupcakes. After I allowed the cupcakes to cool, I dipped them top-first right into the frosting. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffern, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe but it is very rich! My kids loved it! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I like this recipe a lot, it reminds me of the tub frosting you'd by at the grocery. I like the fact it hardens quickly yet it's still creamy at the same time. Thanks for sharing this, I'll use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
really tasty although I would recommend following the directions on the recipe. I tried to make it using the microwave to melt everything but it turned out to be more difficult. I added a bit of cocoa powder and cream of tartar to make it taste richer and to let it stiffen up a bit. Overall a really delicious frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe is really easy and tastes great and became the perfect option for a chocolate cake I made with my boyfriend; he likes confectioners´ sugar frosting that turns a bit hard and I, on the other hand, like a creamy and buttery kind of frosting. This has elements of both and works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was exactly what I was looking for: simple buttercream-style frosting that I can make without a lot of fussy ingredients. But, beware that there's little to hide an off-taste chocolate or butter. I only had sweetened chocolate, so I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and I used milk instead water as I prefer the taste. If your frosting starts to stiffen while spreading, beat in more liquid a little at a time until you achieve the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States