Creamy Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Very similair to a chipotle chicken I have been making for several years. If you really like to cook with chipotles, here's a hint. Puree a can or two of chipotles in adobo. Put in a jar, keep refrigerated & then you can call it "chipotle paste". I add a spoonful to broth when making soups. Also, use this same recipe and instead of chipotles use a basil pesto sauce. Excellent over linguine or fettucine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a nice, flavorful, and easy crock pot recipe. I made this as is but put my chicken breast in frozen. It came out great :) I cooked this on low and it was done in my slow cooker after only 4 hours. The chicken was moist and the sauce is nice and creamy with a smoky kick. I served this over rice with a side of broccoli. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Ok, so I only made 3 changes to this recipe (that is a MAJOR accomplishment for me). The first being that I didn't use the butter (I didn't think it was necessary with the richness of the other ingredients), added a can of mushrooms and I added slivered onions for the last 40 minutes of cooking. I increased the broth to 3/4 cup to make up for the loss in liquid. I also solved the issue some people had with the "chunky" sauce without having to pre-heat all the sauce ingredients. I heated my broth in the microwave for about a minute. I then added the cream cheese chunks and cooked at 20 second intervals until it softened somewhat. I then put the broth/cream cheese, soup and peppers in the blender and hit pulse until it was blended and creamy. The sauce went into the crockpot with the frozen chicken breasts and a small can of sliced mushrooms (drained) and was done about 40 minutes later. We served it over rice and it was a hit! Thanks for the recipe :) I know this recipe would have been just as great as written but we're trying to cook a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a nice recipe, but it will need some work. Next time, I'll warm up the cream soup, broth, adobo sauce and butter in a saucepan on medium heat, then whisk in the cream cheese until it's thoroughly blended. Then I'll put the remaining ingredients in the slow cooker and pour the sauce over it all. Something is still off, though. Maybe it needs something strong but light to balance the heaviness of the smoke and the richness of the cream cheese; I'm thinking fresh ground coriander seed. Definitely needs chopped cilantro and onions at the table to perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Love it ... tasty and moist. I did alter the recipe by using what I had on hand. Substituted cream of chicken with cream of mushroom and the chipolte pepper with jarred roasted red peppers. Mild smokey flavor not spicy, if you don't like hot spice try it with the roasted red peppers. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I hardly ever give a recipe 5 stars, but this is one of the exceptions. My family thought it was a bit spicy, but I loved it, so the heck with them... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was fabulous. I didn't want to wait til the next day to make it in the slow cooker, so I cut up the chicken and pan seared it. Then followed the directions. I let it cook in the sauce for about 20 minutes and served it over rice. This was definitely restaurant quality, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burrinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Absolutely excellent! The chicken was extremely moist and flavorful, the sauce was perfectly creamy with a definite kick. I made it exactly as it was written and my VERY picky boyfriend piped up right away saying to put this recipe in the "keep" pile. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
EXCELLENT! Only made minor changes: added 1 can of roasted diced tomatoes, and ommited the chicken stock due to the extra liquid in canned tomatoes. Added sauteed thinly sliced onions, red pepper, green pepper, and poblano peppers to last 45 minutes of cooking. Served over cilantro rice completed the "Mexican" flavors of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I loved this recipe. The only changes I made was to use fat free soup and sour cream to cut the calories, and guilt I feel when going for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christieirene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States