Creamy Chicken with Corn, Tarragon and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This turned out very well. I used veggie chicken which were spiced somewhat and vegetable stock to make it vegetarian. Then I used Skim milk mixed with a little cornstarch. End result was loved by all at home including 2 & 5 year olds. I served this on whole wheat couscous. Really healthy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I always forget how much I enjoy the taste of tarragon! This is a very subtle flavor - I loved it but the hubs found it a bit bland. I used 3 plum tomatoes and cut the chicken into strips. Next time I will probably double the amount of corn. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I wasn't sure about this recipe to begin with. In the end I've decided it is really tasty. I like the use of couscous with it--I used 1/2 can of drained canned tomatoes and dried tarragon. Very tasty--especially the next day after the flavors mix together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This recipe is really good, but I made several modifications to make it healthier. I added more veggies: 1 yellow pepper, 1 green pepper, 1/4 of red onion, (all largely chopped) and instead of fresh tomatoes, I used 1 can of diced organic tomatoes. I also added more chicken stock and used a substitute for the cream to make it even healthier. Heat 1 Tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Sautee veggies, then add chicken. Start with stock like recipe calls for (1 can) and use it make couscous. Remove chicken and veggies from pan, but do it separately. Dump in the other half of the broth, and another can of broth. Add herbs and bring to a rolling boil. (I also added 1 C of corn at this point because it had been frozen.) 1 and 1/4 Cup of Plain non-fat yogurt and 4 teaspoons of corn starch well blended (just beat it with a fork. it will be smooth.) Then add that to the broth once the broth is boiling. Slowly pour in yogurt while stirring broth. Cook for a minute and re-add veggies and chicken. Next time, I will cut up my chicken after cooking, but before re-adding to the sauce. Also, I didn't have tarragon, so i used "savory herbs." To the sauce I also added 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper and a pinch of salt. Let sauce thicken up for about 5 minutes. Voila! It was delicious, healthy, and my co-workers and boyfriend loved it! Even the leftovers were fantastic for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicago girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This was...not good. Consistency was very soupy. Flavor was very bland---even the fresh tarragon and the late addition of a dollop of fresh minced garlic could not give it life. However---my husband liked it enough to say he didn't care if I made it again. Oh...and then putting the mess over a scoop of coucous....it makes me shiver to recall. It was an attractive dish, though, if you overlook the soupiness, the red and green and yellow midest the creamy paleness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I really liked the idea of this recipe so I decided to make some substitutions to accommodate my lactose intolerance, and make it a little healthier. First, I used a container of Tofutti Better than cream cheese mixed with a little chicken stock instead of heavy cream. This worked very well, and I think made it less soupy than some reviewers experienced. I only used 2 chicken breasts and instead added 2 cloves of minced garlic, 1 sliced zucchini and 4 tomatoes. I also added the juice of 1 whole lemon to some israeli couscous. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Substituted fresh basil (my favourite herb- i love to smell the bunches in the supermarket - i know - im so weird!!) for the tarragon, and used fresh corn cobs. Kept the recipe as is apart from that tho! Ymuumy chicken recipe that my family really liked, and will probably request again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is a really delicious recipe. I think using fresh herbs is key for good flavor. I added mushrooms, they work well in this! Good way to use up summer corn & tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Even my kids liked this. (They are picky eaters)I did make a few changes. I pounded the chicken first to thin it out. I reduced the amount of chicken broth to 3/4 cup and used less fresh tarragon and the tomatoes I cut up in large pieces.I used 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Not really a terrific recipe in my book. The fresh herbs with fresh tomatoes and fresh squeezed lemon juice were really the only things that this recipe had going for it. It wasn't horrible, but it just didn't have my family or I going nuts over it. I will say that it was quick and easy to make. I agree with other reviews, it was a bit soupy. Not a bad recipe, but I like something with a bit more zing. Really loved what the FRESH herbs and other FRESH ingredients did for this dish, would have rated it much lower otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States