Creamy Chicken on Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a really good pasta dish. I used 3/4 of an onion because I was afraid it was going to be too overpowering. I substituted lactose free skim milk for the heavy cream and used 1/2 cup chicken stock instead of a bouillon cube. I put the sauce in the blender to puree it as well. I only used 3 chicken breasts and found even that to be waaaay to much chicken. Because I used milk instead of cream, the sauce needs to be thickened with cornstarch so it will stick to the pasta. Oh, I also omitted the green onions and added extra minced garlic and chicken stock while cooking the chicken. . The calorie count on my was 172 calories per cup. That doesn't include the extra chicken broth I had to add. Figure in the calories of an extra cup of broth and you should have an accurate count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Sauce needs more liquid or less boiling off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
4.5 Stars. I added Red and Green Bell Peppers and Mushrooms, which definitely was a nice touch. I agree with other users about it being to "miky" , Next time Ill use way less, but overall the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaleni315

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I had to buy a bunch of chicken when my grocery money was less than I needed, so I was looking for something, anything really, to jazz up this fine meat that I was sick to death of eating. While I did add more garlic (my husband is big on the garlic) and doubled the sauce (that would be for me) I didn't change anything other than that. This was lovely and warm and gave me the change I was looking for. I will adjust for personal tastes, but thank you for giving me a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Not so happy with this. A just okay chicken tetrazini/white sauce without vegetables or a less than decent alfredo. (Try the alfredo by Kimber!) The onions are pretty funky in it. I minced them, but still messed with my mind that the sauce wasn't smooth til I remembered they were in there. The taste of the onion was fine, just looked like I did something wrong. I've made alfredo before & this one, yes I know it isn't claiming to be alfredo but, just didn't blend well. 'Had to really beat it to distribute the melted cheese that accumulated in the pot; then, thicken it twice. I halved the chicken & pasta amount, but used the full sauce recipe. (Right proportions if you try it). I'm glad I used up leftover chicken in this. Just wish someone would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Our favorite chicken and pasta dish by far! We don't typically like chicken with pasta, but this was incredible. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper!! I'm not a fan of chunks of onion so I used a submersion blender and the sauce turned out amazing! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesse862005

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The sauce for this recipe was amazing! I didn't change a thing. I think the next time I make this I will add some kind of vegetables like broccoli and mushrooms or maybe red peppers. The sauce was quite thin so I would probably also make a roux to help thicken things up a bit. Flavor wise this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was very disapointed.... It was way to milky for me and my family. There was no awe to it so I'm sorry to say that I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
AWESOME! I made this exactly as posted except I used chicken stock rather than water/boullion. NO leftovers, the family scarfed it down! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Tender chicken served over pasta with a sumptuous, creamy sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States