Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was great, creamy comfort food. Loved it! It was so easy - I even used frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer and believe it or not, the chicken was done sooner than the carrots. Will slice the carrots thinner next time. I wish there was more rice to go around, so I plan to add some extra regular rice to the slow cooker (plus the necessary water to compensate). Due to the frozen chicken, I jumped started the crock by putting on high for the first 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I added a small bag of mini carrots instead of cutting up four carrots like the recipe stated. We love carrots in our house. Also the other reviewer stated it does not need extra salt but all of us had to add a little salt to ours. The chicken is so tender it falls apart after cooking for seven hours at low temperature in the slow cooker. This is a keeper for us. Even our four year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
For the people that thought it was bland don't forget that you need to use a SEASONED rice mix. I found this very flavorful. Added chopped celery and used chix stock intead of water. Great for the Sunday dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was not bad. It is a super hardy meal that sticks to your ribs (my husbands quote) Easy to do. I did the recipe exactly as it stated using water instead of chicken stock. No need for salt it is salty enough with the soup and seasoning packet. I only used half the chicken breast and it was fine. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
delicious! on high my chicken was done in 3.5 hours. i made the mistake of leaving it on warm for about 30min while i was waiting for my husband to get home and the chicken ended up drying out, but te flavor of the rice was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Good base recipe. I made the following modifications for my lower sodium health preferences: To cut down on the sodium, I substituted 1 cup of homemade bechamel sauce for 1 can of cream of chicken soup. I used reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup instead of the other can of cream of chicken soup that the recipe calls for. I also substituted plain unseasoned wild rice instead of the seasoned packaged one, and added my own favorite dried spices (tarragon, italian seasoning, rosemary). I then added my own amount of salt and pepper. I used broccoli instead of carrots as a preference and used chicken thighs instead of breasts for more flavor. It turned out creamy, flavorful and yummy. I felt good about feeding my family a lower sodium meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Hubby and I rated it 4, our 8 year old daughter said 5! Hubby thought it needed more veggies. I think next time I might ad some frozen peas. Carrots were still pretty crunchy after 6.5 hours but everything else was cooked. I didn't mind the crunchy carrots, they were yummy. I used chicken thighs because they are less expensive and we like them better. This was good, creamy comfort food. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I opted to leave out the carrots (not huge cooked carrot fans) and other than the fact that my crockpot cooks so fast/hot, it was pretty good. I cut up my chicken into bite size pieces (it was for a potluck lunch at church). That way I only used about 1/2 the amount of chicken it called for...still plenty for everyone to have some. It was all gone, so I guess it was a hit. I'll make this again, very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walton, New York, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It tasted very bland and that was after I had added seasoned salt and pepper. It wasn't a hit with any of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The flavor was good but for me it came out really thick and sticky. Not really what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States