Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Followed the suggestions of others, added chopped onion, garlic, carrot, and celery, and also added a chopped red pepper, since I had one. I used leftover rotisserie chicken, and put the bones in the 2 cups of water and let them boil together while I made the roux. After I took the bones out, it looked a bit lower than 2 cups, so I added some wine. YUM! Many thanks to all, especially the original submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This turned out great! I made a few tweaks, though: I used instant rice instead of wild. For the seasoning, a mix of paprika, parsley, seasoned salt, pepper and garlic. I also sauteed mushrooms, celery and carrots and added those (just add however many you like). This is the best recipe! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
One of my favorites. I use skim milk to cut down on the calories, and it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is fantastic!! My husband and I love this recipe, we use a rotisserie chicken instead and just shred it and add it to the soup! Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ustacks
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Took the advice of other reviewers and added celery, carrots, onion, and garlic. Cooked in a broth for about 45 min with bay leaves before adding the rice and chicken. Used half n half and skim milk to cut down on calories a little. Still good consistency and a hearty meal. Think I would have preferred cubing the chicken instead of shredding but overall a very satisfying meal. Added fresh baked bread on the side for dipping to complete the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is restaurant quality soup at home! I used Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice Fast Cook - comes in 6.2 ozs. pkg. - and used all but just under a 1/4 cup of the rice. Followed the directions exactly. Definitely my new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe! I loved it! Since I can't eat grain flours, I used buckwheat (scant 3/4 cup), followed the directions and served the family with a loaf of bread - this was simply perfect, even my picky husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My family made me promise to make it again! I added lots of carrots, celery and a couple cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
whole family loved it! Will make again.. FYI, I used a 1lb breast of chicken, (maybe a hair over) and it was plenty of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Love it! I add lots of veggies though 1/2 cup of celery, 1/2 cup of onions, and 1 cup of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States