Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Not really a review, but my record for myself for what I did so I know how to get a great pot of soup again! Kids loved it. Cooked 1 c of long grain wild rice (not a seasoned packet) according to directions and set aside. I chopped 1/2 an onion and sauteed it with 3 stalks chopped celery in olive oil and butter. Added 2 tsp garlic to that. Had 3 long chopped carrots (about 18 baby) cooking in 4 c of chicken broth till tender. Added about 1 1/2-2 c of chopped cooked chicken that I had on hand to the broth, then added celery and onion. Made a roux by melting 1/2 c butter in skillet, stirring in seasonings: poultry seasoning, white pepper, herb chicken seasoning and chopped fresh parsley, along with about 2/3 c of flour. Then added about 2/3 c of heavy cream to that. Stir rice and roux into soup mixture. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I added more salt and pepper. I also added old bay seasoning to this recipe and it really gave this soup the extra touch that was missing. Without the old bay, I'd give the soup 3 stars because the soup had too much of a milky taste without the extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this soup!! He regularly requests it. I don't change a thing and it's very easy to make. I've made it between half a dozen and a dozen times. Sometimes we'll even freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Made it with leftover turkey I had in the freezer. Also, added a splash of wine and since I didn't find the flavour packet I added cumin, ginger and turmeric just as another reviewer suggested. My family loved it. Especially since it snowed today. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
If I was the only person in my household rating this recipe, I would also likely give it more like 4.5 to 5 stars. But The Hubbs just doesn't get that excited about any soup. As a "food group," soup is more like a beverage to him. So, when I say that he gave this one between 3-4 stars, it really means something. I made it almost "as-written." I "took some help" from a little more than half of a rotisserie chicken and I added about a 1/2 cup (maybe a little more) of peas and carrots for color. I REALLY enjoyed this one. Next time, the biggest change I would probably make is making the roux in a larger pan -- I just didn't give myself enough room. But there certainly WILL be a next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
YUM! I had to adapt for gluten/dairy free diet restrictions but still amazing! My picky kid loves it. I followed several of the reviews that suggested sauteeing onion, garlic and adding celery and carrot to the broth mixture. I used earth balance dairy free butter, and cashew milk to sub the dairy, gluten free all purpose flour (similar to better batter) for the flour. Thickened up very nicely! I couldn't find the wild rice w seasoning so I had to wing the seasonings- I used onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cumin, ginger. SO maybe it isn't a review of this recipe anymore, but at least an excellent adaption for the gluten/dairy free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
It was good but i had to add corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Also good using leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Wow, this soup is delicious... but one bowl each knocked my boyfriend and me out for the rest of the day, and we're by no means calorie-counters or health nuts. This is an incredibly heavy soup as written and I strongly suggest taking some low-calorie or lighter alternatives to as many of the ingredients as possible. Unfortunately I think I am now turned off of this soup for good. To finish off the leftovers, we could only eat than half a bowl at a time... Beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States