Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a great recipe. I also added celery, carrots and mushrooms. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This soup was amazing. We added carrots and celery. Even my 3 year old loved it!!! Will make for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is our favorite soup. My kids love it! I always just cut up 2 chicken breasts into bite size pieces and brown them in olive oil, S&P. When that is done I put the chicken in foil and set aside. I add 2-3 TBSP of butter to the pot and sauté 1 minced onion, 2 garlic cloves(minced), 2 stalks of celery (diced) and 1/3 c. of minced carrots and S&P. Once softened, I add the flour and mix it until the veges are coated. I add the chicken stock and about 3 cups of white rice and about 1 tsp of thyme. Then I add the water & milk (instead of heavy cream-it still comes out thick & creamy!). Cook until thickened about 10 minutes and then I add the chicken. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for my tastes. I took 1 qt of home made chicken stock and 4 whole,skinless,chicken legs,(legs and thighs separated),put them in the crockpot on low,and let them simmer overnight. In the morning I drained the legs,reserving stock, let cool,and picked & chopped the meat. In the crockpot I threw a whole 6 oz.package of brown & wild mix,into the already hot reserved broth. In a stock pot, I sauteed in 2 TBS olive oil, 1 whole leek,tougher parts of green top removed, 1 cup each celery hearts and carrots,chopped, and 6 oz. mushrooms,diced small, until tender. I added to the stock pot 1 qt of homemade chicken broth and reserved broth/rice mixture,chicken meat, & I brought all to a boil and let simmer. I add an additional 1/2 C. wild rice mix & cook until tender. I wanted less calories so I used 6 TBS unsalted butter and 1/2 C.flour to make roux, and add 2 C. 1 percent milk. This makes 12 servings, and was a big hit at a church pot luck. (Approx. 286 calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now. Always great. I went to make it one day and didn't have a wild rice mix so I used Trader Joe's Rice Orzo and Pilaf mix. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious!! The Best Cream of Chicken Rice I have made! The only thing I added was garlic and a bit of garlic powder as I put it in almost everything few baby peas added might be nice next time!! Thank you for sharing is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Such a great recipe! I first made it as written and it was delicious. The second time I tweaked it just a bit. I boiled my chicken for this recipe and used 2 cups of it's water instead of plain water. I also used regular milk instead of the heavy cream and it was just as rich and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
First time writing a review. This was so good! I added a few additions: 1/2c carrots, 1/2c celery and 1/2c broccoli. Also, I used a little less than the 2c heavy cream. The soup was very thick. The next day I heated it up with a good amount of water to make it thinner. Next time I will probably add an additional 1c water when making. Boyfriend said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Amazing! My only change was that since I was doubling the recipe, I added 3 small onions and 1 celery heart sliced to the melting butter. This soup is so, so good and I'm known for my soup cooking. Amy C. Greensburg, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ro0ney
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Added carrots and broccoli. Used 1 cup heavy cream, one cup milk. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro0ney
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States