Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Loved it. Added onions for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
We really enjoyed this soup BUT I did add sauteed carrots, celery, onions and mushrooms. We like veggies in our soup. I also subbed one of the cups of heavy cream for skim milk to cut some fat and calories. I reduced the flour to a half cup but I should have used the recommended amount of flour because I would have liked this soup to be a bit thicker. Regardless, this soup served with some fresh warm bread is a meal that can't be beat. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
It is a hearty recipe. I made the changes that many others suggested by adding 1/2 cup chopped carrots, 1/2 cup chopped celery, 1/2 cup chopped onion and minced garlic to taste. I also decreased the flour to 1/2 cup. I chose to replace the heavy cream with 2 cups of 1% milk. The soup was still rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My family loved this dish and is already asking when I'll make it again. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This soup is fabulous, restaurant quality! love it! Iadded carrot,onion,celery and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
No cream, just 1% milk. Added the onions, carrots, celery and sautéed ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wayschool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Took a bit longer then stated to complete. Used prior recommendations added 1/2 cup each of diced onion, peppers, and carrots sautéed in olive oil. Kept everything else the same and it turned out great. A soup good enough to fix for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsPeterson110313
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have made this about 10 times now and it is a huge hit with guests. Definitely a winter or fall dinner though, very hearty. I add sautéed mushrooms and sweet kernel corn and serve it over honey cornbread. Sometimes I'll also add shredded carrots. Fresh ground peppercorn and sea salt on top. Super yummy. Very simple recipe and always delicious, it just takes some prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was fantastic! I added some kale, mushrooms and onions and sauteed those with olive oil and used milk instead of heavy cream and less salt. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I am only giving 4 stars due to modifications made...but what an awesome base recipe!! I am certain it would be great "as is", but I kind of combined this with another recipe found on site and then followed some suggestions made by others. I used 3 chicken breasts(boiled in homemade veggie broth), homemade chicken broth, Minnesota wild rice (cooked in chicken broth/water), sautéed celery, carrots and shallots in olive oil...added fresh mushrooms. I also used whole milk as opposed to the heavy cream and added about 3/4 cup of white wine the last 15 minutes. It was super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States