Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This is a wonderful soup!!!!! The only changes I made were that I used 1/2 C flour instead of the 3/4; and I used milk and half & half instead of heavy cream. For the rice I used Uncle Ben's. You might have to thin the leftovers with a splash of water or milk the next day. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanius
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I've made this recipe several times now and each time I've made a small change and it has always turned out delicious. I made a pot once and ate nothing but this for 3 days. I have used heavy cream and then time substituted lactose free milk or regular milk. It tastes yummy either way. I always add a bit of chopped carrots, garlic, and because I love rice have added about 3/4 extra quick cook white rice. This is one of my regularly cooked dishes. When it's rainy or cold out I crave this. It is so simple and easy. I've cubed the chicken and shredded it. Personally I do like shredding 1 1/2 organic chicken breats the best. It is delicious with freshly baked bread. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Yes, we had this soup last night and it us by far, THE BEST creamy chicken wild rice soup we have ever eaten. Even my husband raved about how delicious it was. Our daughter prepared this soup and like others she modified it to her liking. She added the carrots, onions, celery and she added 4 cloves of finely chopped garlic, which she sautéed this all in the butter, but only using 1/2 cup instead of 3/4/ cup. To help with less calories, she used 1% milk instead of cream which did not change the creaminess of the soup at all!! Look no further, friends. You will keep this recipe for many meals in the future. BRAVO!! Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne D'Abate
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is a very tasty recipe, but maybe a bit too rich for my taste. Per several of the reviews, I'll use milk next time (maybe even 2%). BTW: The only change I made was to add some carrots and celery. Thanks, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I didn't have any celery and carrots to add like other reviewers suggested so I actually steamed a bag of mixed vegetables (corn, green beans, peas, and carrots) and added it instead. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Restaurant quality added onions carrots celery fresh garlic fmly loved will keep in arsenal for years to come thAnks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kia Ahrise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Awesome!!! My go to winter soup for 2 years. I usually add some slices of carrot (canned) for color and to get a veggie in for kids. Love to take to friends also. I am picky about leftovers but this gets eaten up days after in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ******CAS********
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious! Definitely needed to add veggies carrots, celery, onion before broth, water and chicken. Only needed quarter cup butter & quarter cup flour otherwise roux would be too thick. Added another half cup water and whole milk, didn't use heavy cream. I love rice so I added a second box but only one packet of seasoning. Also added quarter cup good dry white wine last 10 minutes of cooking time. Topped with black pepper. Had enough for an army sharing it with the neighbors shoveling out the northeast snow again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This soup is amazing! I increased the serving to 18 because the wild rice packages were 6 oz. I also added 2 lbs of fresh sauteed mushrooms. Campbell's has nothing on this creamy yummy soup! THANK YOU FOR THIS FANTASTIC RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
So yummy! We followed the first review and used less butter and skim milk. We also added some broccoli to it. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States