Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Wild rice goes well with creamy chicken soup. Based on the other reviews, I made following modification similar to the other reviewers: sautéed both 1/2 cup of carrot and celery, 1 cup of onion (make the soup a bit more sweeter), and garlic. Changed from heavy cream to skim milk, 6 spoon of butter instead of 8, smaller amount of salt & pepper, used Minnesota wild rice. My version is, I suppose (as I didn't make the original version), sweeter with generous amount of onion, less salty (or milder flavor). Would go well with salmon & veggie broth, instead of chicken, perhaps. Had this soup with home made white bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I've made this a few times and the first time I added carrots, celery, onion, and garlic per other reviewers' suggestions. However, after making it again I only added carrots and celery sauteed in a little reduced fat margarine. I used low fat Half 'n Half but 2% milk works just as well. It was so much better. This recipe DOES NOT need onion and definitely doesn't need garlic. They add flavors that do not mesh well with this recipe and I'm a huge onion and garlic fan. However the carrots and celery do. Keep it simple! Because I love wild rice I usually buy a small box and precook 1/2 cup of it before adding to the broth along with the fast cooking rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
i made this soup a while ago and it was amazing,however i did use more chicken and less rice, but over all it was warm creamy goodnesss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
One of the few recipes I make again and again! I sometimes add different veggies I have on hand. Tonight I'll throw some asparagus in it. Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
last night was the first time making this - two changes was I added carrots and onions but otherwise did as recipe said : ) How could this not be good - stick of butter & two cups cream? My husband LOVED it - I think it's good (yes 4 stars good) but a little too Paula Dean for me. it's very rich and as it sat got very thick - did add water to thin it out but my husband loves a thick soup. Over all will make again when my husband asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My family (including my two picky daughters) really loved this soup. A friend shared the recipe and I've made it three times now. One thing I would recommend is cutting down on the amount of flour. I used 1/2 cup and I believe that 1/3 cup would be plenty. The soup was almost too thick and less flour made it a little more soup-like. I also used 1% milk instead of cream and it was just as tasty but obviously much healthier. And for the chicken, I used a Costco rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this soup the first time as written and LOVED it! I have made it several times since and have made a couple of changes and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it still! The changes I made were to first, use only chicken stock (no water), I also saute about 3/4 of a cup each of onion, carrot and celery (I think those always make a soup better plus I like the color of the carrots!) while the stock and chicken are coming to a boil. Because of the addition of those three items, I did increase the chicken broth by one cup. This soup no matter how you make it is a sure fire winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
It was very good. My fiance and I stubbled upon this when we were trying to find something to make that was simple, quick, and not too expensive (we try not to embody the college kid diet when we can). He loved it! He calls this a "mom meal" which means definite keeper. It's great for cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
As written, I thought this recipe was just ok. The butter and heavy cream is way too much. I like a creamy soup as much as the next person, but this was way too rich. Next time we would eliminate the butter entirely and probably use half and half instead of heavy cream. We added carrots, celery, and corn because when we make soup we like it to be a complete meal. Without the added veggies I think this soup would be pretty boring. With modifications I think this can be a 5 star recipe, but not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I sauteed a package of sliced mushrooms in 1/4 cup of butter with two crushed cloves of garlic and added them to the soup before making my roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States