Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is the best recipe. Made it three times this chilly winter and it's a hit every time. It's a filling meal with fresh bread and a side salad! No major changes - just personal preference: 1) I do add diced carrots & celery - they add some color 2) I used Uncle Bens Classiques Long Grain & Wild Rice mix - it has the seasoning packet and a dried veggies packet. 3) the flour and butter for the roux can be reduced...both for calories sake & the thickness 4) I've used milk and half and half in place of the heavy cream and both still make a very thick soup without the added calories. 5) I don't add any salt and used Campbell's 30% reduced sodium broth - the seasoning packet in the rice offers plenty of salt. I'll be sad winter is almost over (NOT) as this is really more a fall/winter meal! Would be great to take to an après ski party or winter potluck! Oh, and it does continue to thicken up - add a little more chicken broth and it won't dilute the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made as is. White rice. Needs salt and some additional spices. Subbed cornstarch and half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe to start a soup with. Like others I added sauteed onions, carrots and celery to the soup. I used the Uncle Ben's Wild Rice mix and I did not use all of the flour for my roux, only used a 1/2 c. I also threw in sliced mushrooms towards the end. I made this for my family and in laws and they ate the entire pot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Wonderful hearty soup after a cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
YUM... Made as written with the addition of carrots and celery. Simply, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. The soup is easy to make and the finished product is a thick &hearty. The spices are just right as well. The only thing I might do differently next time would be to add some carrots or celery to introduce a veggie. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made this and WOW delish..the only thing I did a little different was add some corn and carrots then a splash of dry sherry..it really was amazing...The addition of the Sherry took it to a whole new level...dry white wine would be ok too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this recipe but instead of chicken I used hamburger, then I substituted something for every other ingredient, it was horrible. Then I made it as recommended and it was awesome, the kids even loved it. Seriously though folks, if you substitute 75% of the ingredients you are no longer reviewing this recipe. You are reviewing your own :) Why not submit the essentially New recipe for others to try? I like to see tips on variations, but at a certain point the recipe isn't anything like the original submission . This is delicious as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesome as written, but I like to add sauteed carrots, onions, celery and garlic plus a little poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This is the most absolutely delish soup I've made! Had a few changes, add ons. Put carrots, celery and a little onion and crushed garlic in. I think that really adds to it. Used 1/2 cream and 1/2 1% milk and it just worked out perfect. My husband had 4 bowls hot off the stove. Used the Uncle Bens wild rice and whole seasoning packet and wouldn't change that as it worked out really good. Also just used a rotisserie chicken from the deli, cut up. Makes no difference at all! Make this recipe! It's sooooo good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States