Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Let me start off with one I am not a chef, but I love cream of chicken and rice, and thise soup hit thw spot. I didnt get the right rice, with the special seasoning but I improvised and added italian seasoning, onion powder and basil, it was heaven.. Going to always use the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Duran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Steve hated it so it doesn't matter that I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Not really a review, but my record for myself for what I did so I know how to get a great pot of soup again! Kids loved it. Cooked 1 c of long grain wild rice (not a seasoned packet) according to directions and set aside. I chopped 1/2 an onion and sauteed it with 3 stalks chopped celery in olive oil and butter. Added 2 tsp garlic to that. Had 3 long chopped carrots (about 18 baby) cooking in 4 c of chicken broth till tender. Added about 1 1/2-2 c of chopped cooked chicken that I had on hand to the broth, then added celery and onion. Made a roux by melting 1/2 c butter in skillet, stirring in seasonings: poultry seasoning, white pepper, herb chicken seasoning and chopped fresh parsley, along with about 2/3 c of flour. Then added about 2/3 c of heavy cream to that. Stir rice and roux into soup mixture. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I added more salt and pepper. I also added old bay seasoning to this recipe and it really gave this soup the extra touch that was missing. Without the old bay, I'd give the soup 3 stars because the soup had too much of a milky taste without the extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this soup!! He regularly requests it. I don't change a thing and it's very easy to make. I've made it between half a dozen and a dozen times. Sometimes we'll even freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Made it with leftover turkey I had in the freezer. Also, added a splash of wine and since I didn't find the flavour packet I added cumin, ginger and turmeric just as another reviewer suggested. My family loved it. Especially since it snowed today. Comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
If I was the only person in my household rating this recipe, I would also likely give it more like 4.5 to 5 stars. But The Hubbs just doesn't get that excited about any soup. As a "food group," soup is more like a beverage to him. So, when I say that he gave this one between 3-4 stars, it really means something. I made it almost "as-written." I "took some help" from a little more than half of a rotisserie chicken and I added about a 1/2 cup (maybe a little more) of peas and carrots for color. I REALLY enjoyed this one. Next time, the biggest change I would probably make is making the roux in a larger pan -- I just didn't give myself enough room. But there certainly WILL be a next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
YUM! I had to adapt for gluten/dairy free diet restrictions but still amazing! My picky kid loves it. I followed several of the reviews that suggested sauteeing onion, garlic and adding celery and carrot to the broth mixture. I used earth balance dairy free butter, and cashew milk to sub the dairy, gluten free all purpose flour (similar to better batter) for the flour. Thickened up very nicely! I couldn't find the wild rice w seasoning so I had to wing the seasonings- I used onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cumin, ginger. SO maybe it isn't a review of this recipe anymore, but at least an excellent adaption for the gluten/dairy free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
It was good but i had to add corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Also good using leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States