Creamy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This was some good stuff. Of course, I can never follow a recipe to the "T". I always tweak something in it. I cooked the rice in the poaching liquid from the chicken, I threw in some shredded cheddar along with the veveeta, tossed in some frozen peas and carrots and topped in all off with some french fried onions instead of the cracker crumbs. My kids went nuts over it and my husband got up in the morning and ate it for breakfast. He said it was even better reheated. Thanx for a great recipe...this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was very good, and a very creamy delightful switch from the usual run of the mill "Chicken & Rice" recipes. But I have got to say after making it a few times I tried a more gourmet tasting flair to it and it worked beautifully. What I used was 1/2 gruyere cheese and 1/2 good cheddar. Then I diced 4 large chicken breast halves into small bite size pieces and placed approx. 3 cups of large sliced fresh mushooms in a bowl and sprinkled 1/3 cup of white wine on top and tossed the mushrooms and chicken to absorb the wine and let sit while I prepared the cheese sauce. I also prepared the rice using the water I had boiled the breasts in and strained it and added some chicken base. I would definitly serve this for company done this way and recommend having fun using the basics of this recipe to your own tastes. It is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This recipe was not a very big hit with the family. I tried it again without the Velveeta and used cheddar, also did it with uncooked rice and baked longer. this seemed to have added more flavor to the rice. My famiily liked this version more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good but I also added broccoli, celery and onion to the chicken mixture. In addition I took out the chicken bullion and used garlic and onion powder with the seasoning salt. For the topping I halved the cracker crumbs and added about 1/2 cup of shredded cheese to them for the topping. I also took out the butter which was not needed once the cheese was added, I used sharp chedder instead of the velveta. I think the combo of velveta, bullion and seasoning salt would add way to much salt to this dish. With the changes I belive it is a 5 star recipe, but a 4 as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great first out of the oven, when re-heated I felt it was too dry, maybe the rice soaks up the extra liquid. Next time will add more sour cream or something to make it have a little more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tswartze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
A classic, home-cooked, comfort food dinner! I didn't add the cooked chicken to the sauce (so that I could stir it better/smoother) but just mixed it in ahead with the rice (Step one or two). Also, I took another's advice about adding veggies: I added some cooked chopped broccoli & cooked chopped carrots. Overall - an easy dinner that we all thought was terriffic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Really, very good taste! Nice and creamy! It is missing something though, lacks color. I don't think I'd add anything in the recipe per se, but having peas and carrots on the side to mix in would be awesome. I would also put more of a crust on it--another cup or so of crackers should be fine since my topping seemed a little wet anyway. Overall, really good though. Now that I know the taste, I can figure out what veggies to make on the side(see above) and make it a comlete meal. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIPSTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Great comfort food! My family loved it-even the picky little ones. Thinking about adding green peas next time for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I always read the reviews before trying a new recipe and use the suggestions that sound good. I tried the gruyere cheese Cheryl B suggested, what a delicious cheese! I sautéed onions and celery with chicken tenders, then added the rest of the ingredients. I also skipped the bouillon and used a carton of chicken broth, using 2 cups in the rice and substituting the other 2 cups for the milk. This casserole came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arcadia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Tasty, tasty! Used Durkee's fried onions instead of crackers. Cooked rice in chicken broth. Added cooked mixed vegetables. Chopped cooked chicken rather than shredded it. Mixed shredded colby jack and cheddar cheeses in with the cheese sauce. Only had about one cup of sour cream and it still worked out well. My son doesn't eat meat, so made a portion for him without meat in one tray. A guest doesn't eat onions, so put the crunchy onion topping only on part of it. Easy to adapt for nearly all picky eaters at the same table! Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States