Creamy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
We loved this, I might have added and cut it in half and still had 2 much for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love it! It is one of my favorite chicken and rice recipes. I do substitute cheddar cheese for the velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is great....however I did change a few things....I didn't have rice so I used penne pasta. Didn't have crackers so I used crumbled Corn Flakes instead. My family loved it, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this within thirty min and everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was the sour cream. I left that out. The sauce is amazing, though. I am thinking about using it as a gravy and on some others things. All and all, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This recipe is fantastic based on the sauce. However, I didn't follow this recipe very well so I'm really saying the sauce is a great base. I used real cheese instead of velveeta. I used a cheddar/monterey jack mix but you can use whatever kind of cheese you want. I also halved the recipe and that actually gave us the 6 servings this recipe claims. I did not do the crackers drenched in butter, either, but instead pulsed two torn up slices of whole wheat bread in my blender and topped the dish with those. They browned very nicely in the 13 minutes I had the casserole in the oven. Finally I used milk instead of sour cream to thin the sauce as it's far fewer calories and uses quite a bit less. It was fantastic and my husband declared this "a keeper". Next time I will also add steamed broccoli. I will also saute onions when making the roux. The sauce thickened very quickly so this really is a quick and easy recipe! You can also use egg noodles instead of rice for another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe and make it often. We have tons of leftovers every time. Normally I hate eating leftovers, but I never mind re-heating this dish. We use low sodium (Ritz) crackers for the topping, and low sodium chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Easy way to clean out the fridge. I didn't have velveeta so I topped the dish with shredded sharp cheddar and then the crushed crackers. Kids didn't love it but they all found something to pick out and eat; rice, crackers, cheese, or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ami  Herrmann
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was good. My husband really liked it. I took some of the ideas everyone posted to spice it up a little, but I didn't change too much. I added Chicken Base to the rice and used the base instead of the bouillon for the cheese sauce. Also instead of crackers I topped with cheddar and mozzarella cheese just because I'm not a fan of the cracker topping. The cheese got nice and golden and really worked with the recipe. My husband said it reminded him of Mac & Cheese, which is a good thing! I think that the next time I make this I will add some broccoli but other than that I thought it didn't really need anything else! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami  Herrmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was something new, quick, & easy. It's perfect if you need a fast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
this is a really good dish..I have a teenage daughter who hates chicken and hates rice..well this was a huge hit with her and the rest of the family..we always have leftovers for the next day to take to work...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States