Creamy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Exellent dinner! and quick! I had to improvise on some of the ingrediants. I didnt have enough velveeta cheese so I used half velveeta and half cream cheese, and I used saltines instead of butter crackers, and it still turned out sooo yummy. I bet corn flakes would be good to use as well instead of crackers. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great first out of the oven, when re-heated I felt it was too dry, maybe the rice soaks up the extra liquid. Next time will add more sour cream or something to make it have a little more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tswartze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made a few changes as suggested and this was pretty good. Not bad for a weekday meal as it doesn't take too long to make if you have cooked chicken on hand. The changes I made were as follows: 1 medium onion and 2 celery stalks chopped which I cooked in the melted butter before adding flour. I only used 1 tsp. bouillon but will leave this out completely next time I make it. For additional chicken flavor I added 1 can of cream of chicken and substituted crushed corn flakes in place of the crackers as I didn't have any on hand. Family loved it, I thought it needed something to add to the flavor but not bad overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
OMG!!!! YUMMY!!!! All 5 people in my family couldn't get enough!!!! Deff going in the regular Recipe box!!!! THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
We loved this, I might have added and cut it in half and still had 2 much for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I love it! It is one of my favorite chicken and rice recipes. I do substitute cheddar cheese for the velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is great....however I did change a few things....I didn't have rice so I used penne pasta. Didn't have crackers so I used crumbled Corn Flakes instead. My family loved it, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this within thirty min and everyone loved it. The only thing I changed was the sour cream. I left that out. The sauce is amazing, though. I am thinking about using it as a gravy and on some others things. All and all, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This recipe is fantastic based on the sauce. However, I didn't follow this recipe very well so I'm really saying the sauce is a great base. I used real cheese instead of velveeta. I used a cheddar/monterey jack mix but you can use whatever kind of cheese you want. I also halved the recipe and that actually gave us the 6 servings this recipe claims. I did not do the crackers drenched in butter, either, but instead pulsed two torn up slices of whole wheat bread in my blender and topped the dish with those. They browned very nicely in the 13 minutes I had the casserole in the oven. Finally I used milk instead of sour cream to thin the sauce as it's far fewer calories and uses quite a bit less. It was fantastic and my husband declared this "a keeper". Next time I will also add steamed broccoli. I will also saute onions when making the roux. The sauce thickened very quickly so this really is a quick and easy recipe! You can also use egg noodles instead of rice for another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe and make it often. We have tons of leftovers every time. Normally I hate eating leftovers, but I never mind re-heating this dish. We use low sodium (Ritz) crackers for the topping, and low sodium chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States