Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Hi all! Thanks for trying my recipe. Just a few things that the "recipe' people changed from my original recipe: 1) I always use butter not margarine, 2) I always use roasted garlic flavored chicken broth so if you use regular chicken broth try adding a few cloves of minced garlic, and 3) recently I've substituted 1/4 cup of the liquids with 1/4 cup sherry cooking wine. Of all the recipes I've created, this one is by far my favorite! Take care!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is a delicious recipe. I made a few changes to suit what I had on hand: I used 3 stalks celery (not a big celery fan), a small bag of carrots and two onions, all medium chopped and only 1 1/2 cups white rice. As other reviewers mentioned, I replaced 1 1/2 cups water with 1 1/4 cups more broth (I didn't have any boullion) and 1/4 cup sherry. When making the roux, I added 3 tablespoons of store-jarred minced garlic for extra flavor. After simmer, it was a bit too thick, so I ended up adding more milk, using almost a half gallon in the whole recipe. I seasoned with lots of salt, pepper, garlic and poultry seasoning. Rather than poaching the chicken like I normally might, I seasoned a couple of chicken breasts with salt, pepper, Old Bay, garlic and onion and cooked them on a flat top grill in a bit of olive oil. It was a great time saver and added an extra flavor boost. This recipe is definetly a keeper. I look forward to adding other ingredients for different flavors. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought this was a pretty good basic recipe for chicken rice soup. Here are my chenges: only 1 C white rice, no water - used all chix broth, added carrots and 2 Tbls. Old Bay toward the end. I also sauteed the veggies in butter/oil first before adding the broth - this gave it a great "cooked all day" taste. This soup gets very thick, very fast, so be mindful how much flour/milk you are adding. I will make again with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I didn't have time to read the reviews and made this recipe exactly as the recipe states and didn't like it at all. It had the potential to be good if you were to made adjustments. Firstly, if you use 2 cups of rice, this will not be a soup it will be a ricey stew, I would cut it to 1 cup of rice. You need to add your own seasonings as it is very bland as is...I would put 5x the bouillion and garlic in it next time. Once cup of margarine is crazy, I used 1/2 and that was enough. I won't make this recipe again as I now have a pot of gloopy rice stew that I am tired of seasoning and reseasoning...now the dog gets it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A good basic recipe, a few changes make it great. Saute the chicken in olive oil, set aside the chicken, then saute the celery, onion, cut up mushrooms and 2-3 garlic gloves, just until tender. Followed the recipe after that, although I cut back the amount of rice to 1 cup. Added some freshly chopped parsley and a few sprinkles of Old Bay Seasoning a few minutes before serving. Sprinkled some freshly grated parmesan cheese onto each bowl at time of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
AMAZING!! I used alot of the changes people suggested. 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup sherry, 1 cup of rice, a ton of garlic, 4 T of flour, all chicken broth instead of water. I used 1chicken bouillon cube, shallots, carrots & an already roasted chicken from the store. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I have been looking for a soup that's good enough I would pay money for it and I finally found it! I didn't change too much; instead of simmering the celery, etc. in broth and water, I used 4 cups of water and 4 tsp of chicken base. I also seasoned with Tony Cachere and some good garlic salt. It did get a little bit thick so I just prepared another cup of broth and added it before serving. Went over very well in my house. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
this was very yummy! turned out more like a casserole even after adding lots of extra water. Next time I plan on adding only 1 tbs of flour. I also added carrots and garlic, 1 cup of rice, and more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Oh My Gosh! This soup is WONDERFUL! And my 2 year old, my 4 year old AND my 8 year old were all BEGGING for more!!! mmmmmmmmmmm! rich and creamy and sooooo easy! Two thumbs up! I'll definately be making this one again! I substituted 1/4 cup of broth for cooking sherry, added bay leaves as someone else suggested and used Jasmine rice instead of wild rice! Its sooooo good! You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
With some changes suggested by the review this recipe was fabulous. I reduced rice to 1C, reduced margarine to 1/2 C, skipped the celery, added several cloves of garlic, added probably 5 C of milk. It was just wonderful. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States