Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a really good base soup. However, I'll agree with some of the other reviewers in saying that it sincerely needs spices added to it or it is BLAND. Cook the chicken in garlic, pepper and seasonsed salt in butter. Add spices to the rice mixture as its cooking. Add pepper and salt to the rue. If you do all that, when you put it together it should taste WONDERFUL. I'm not exactly sure why everyone is saying this recipe is too thick though...its a creamy soup...its supposed to be a little thicker than a normal soup. I had no problems whatsoever with it being so thick you could put it on a plate! Great recipe with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is fairly good and can be accommodating to adjustments. I only had a little over a cup of butter on hand, so I supplemented with heart-healthy margarine. I also added about 3/4 cup carrot diced small to add color. Only had a cup of brown rice, so supplemented with white. Used skim milk because this is all we have on hand. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
As the comments said, it's REALLY thick and very milky, so it may have been better to cut the roux in half and use more chicken broth instead of milk. It also has no flavor. I added a couple cloves of garlic, but just didn't seem to have enough taste. So I added some thyme and that seemed to work. This recipe makes enough for a small army, so I would suggest making half when you are first trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
blah, needed more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very good and tasty. My husband loved it. I did have to add extra milk and it was still a little thick. So next time I will add a little more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
the idea of this recipe is a good one.. i definetly had to make a lot of changes though.. I put brown,white and wild rice in this plus carrots, 5 garlic cloves,...Hint: I saw this somewhere and i always do it... keep garlic cloves in their shell and put in frying pan.. roast till little brown spots all over(couple mins. dont let burn!) and then take off shell and press them on a flat surface... make paste and add them to your Rue.... Had to add a ton of other stuff... Thyme, fresh parsley and simmered 2 bay leaves with rice..definetly only put 4 Tbls of butter and a Tbls of flour...Very good.Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great recipe -substitued white rice for brown rice as I am not a big fan!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is SO good and comforting! It's also a recipe my little boy will eat, so that's always a plus! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
just great. I substituted barley for the rice. My kids loved it. Very creamy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States