Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was really fantastic! I love the texture of the brown rice. I did add carrots and three cloves of garlic and I let them sweat together in the pot in some olive oil for a few minuets before adding the chicken broth. (I did not use the bouillon and instead used a 32 oz box of chicken broth instead.) I also cooked my chicken in two more cloves of garlic, parsley, salt, pepper and butter. The trick with this soup in definitely in the roux... I used much less flour (about 1/8 of a cup) and added the milk very slowly... it will eventually thin out if you are patient. we will be eating this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This really was not good at all. Hubs who will eat anything turned up his nose. sorry. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was so good!! I didnt use chicken broth from a can, I used fresh chicken broth so its not as salty. Ialso used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. I put some ritz crackers in the bowl before I served it and it tasted like chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I cut this recipe in half, used 1 1/2 C precooked wild rice, deleted the water, used 1 c skim milk, finished with cream, salt and pepper. The wild rice kicked up the flavor quite a bit, and other than pre-cooking the rice was pretty easy. Also, I only used 2 TBS of flour for the roux and it was plenty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was good. My rice didn't cook all the way but that was my fault. It tasted a lot like Captin Jack's Corn Chowder that I make, just with out the corn. My kids all ate it so that is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was SOOO good. I simmered some carrots in the broth and already had some leftover rice I threw in at the end of the recipe. Those were my only changes.. This was very good thick stew. The only time it could get too thick is during the reheating/leftover period. But still, just add milk and its just as good or better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Delicious! I prefer a richer soup so I subbed 1 1/2c cream for the milk. I also used sherry & garlic. Thanks for a great soup to warm up on this cold October evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious -- even a picky 3 year old enjoyed it. I did modify it a bit. I sauteed the onion and celery in butter/olive oil, and added 2tsp of minced garlic. Then I poured the broth and water into that, added the rice and a bit of dried thyme, and brought to a boil. Instead of doing the roux, I just added the 4c of milk to the cooked rice mixture and let it simmer for a while. It thickened up beautifully and was less labor intensive and lower fat. Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I found it a little bland, and 1c butter seems like a lot. I added garlic salt, salt and pepper, could use more chicken boullian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Soup was way to thicken even with adding extra milk...was also very bland...ended up adding curry powder, majoriam, and two more boullian cubes and some water and it ended up much better...overall very bland recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States