Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a wonderful dinner with a loaf of warm fresh bread. Next time I will add carrots and saute the veggies before adding the liquids. I added poultry seasoning but I think garlic is needed also. I only used 4 cups of milk because I like my soup thick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It was good, but it didn't wow us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Excellent! Left overs didn't last 1/2 a day in my house. My family rated it an 11 out of 10! The only personal touches I made was I used white long grain rice, added about a 1/4 cup of lemon juice and a couple dashes of tyme and a bit more milk to thin just a bit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
YUM!! Tasted like the chicken and rice soup I get at my favorite casual restaurant. My whole family loved this soup, which doesn't usually happen!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanadu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This soup is very thick and filling. I think I used almost a whole gallon of milk! It was very good though. I didnt have any celery on hand so I used small diced carrot for an extra veggie. I also used regular long grain rice because I didnt have brown rice. My kids loved this! I think this recipe feeds more than 8 people. More like 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was really fantastic! I love the texture of the brown rice. I did add carrots and three cloves of garlic and I let them sweat together in the pot in some olive oil for a few minuets before adding the chicken broth. (I did not use the bouillon and instead used a 32 oz box of chicken broth instead.) I also cooked my chicken in two more cloves of garlic, parsley, salt, pepper and butter. The trick with this soup in definitely in the roux... I used much less flour (about 1/8 of a cup) and added the milk very slowly... it will eventually thin out if you are patient. we will be eating this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This really was not good at all. Hubs who will eat anything turned up his nose. sorry. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was so good!! I didnt use chicken broth from a can, I used fresh chicken broth so its not as salty. Ialso used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. I put some ritz crackers in the bowl before I served it and it tasted like chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I cut this recipe in half, used 1 1/2 C precooked wild rice, deleted the water, used 1 c skim milk, finished with cream, salt and pepper. The wild rice kicked up the flavor quite a bit, and other than pre-cooking the rice was pretty easy. Also, I only used 2 TBS of flour for the roux and it was plenty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was good. My rice didn't cook all the way but that was my fault. It tasted a lot like Captin Jack's Corn Chowder that I make, just with out the corn. My kids all ate it so that is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States