Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My family loved this! I did make the following changes though. I doubled the amount of celery and onions and added 4 cups of sliced white mushrooms and 4 or 5 sliced garlic cloves. I sauteed the veggies in some olive oil before adding the broth (and used all broth and no water and skipped the bouillon). I also seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning, ground black pepper, onion salt and garlic powder and sauteed it in olive oil (using about 4 1/2 cups of chicken rather than 3). I also added 4 chopped cloves of garlic to the roux as well as some ground black pepper. I did stick with the 2 cups of brown rice and did not add the 2 remaining cups of milk. It does turn out very thick, but it is hearty and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this tonight and it was YUMMY - however, I only used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 flour, and it was still very rich and creamy. It ended up being allot thicker than I anticipated. Yummy soup for a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious and hearty. Keeps well in the refrigerator, but needs milk added to reheat- I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great recipe and very simple. I made some small changes; used butter instead of margerine and only a 1/2 cup and 1/2 of the flour. I also added some poultry seasoning, garlic & parsley as well as some carrot and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
As a starting point, this recipe was good - with my alterations it was great and my husband RAVED about it. Instead of celery, I used carrots. I omitted the bouillon (simply bc I didn't have any). I only used 1/2c. butter and 1/2c. whole wheat flour with 4 c. skim milk. While that was thickening, I added thyme, garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste to the rice mixture. IT WAS AWESOME! And just for more texture, I added 1/2 bag of frozen corn at the very end. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was a delicious soup. I did have to add more chicken broth to thin it out a little. Great for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe to make it more of a stew and I loved it. We had leftovers for days, and it didn't bother us at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Collybaby87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mokena, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was the perfect comfort food. My husband and father-in-law loved it. Only problem is that there were not enough leftovers. As with others, I used white rice because that is what I had on hand, and instead of bouillon and water, I just added an additional 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth. It was thick and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Never made a cream soup before and this was a great start. Added garlic and onion powder for more flavor, but otherwise very filling and delish. The kids loved it. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States