Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is a great, hearty soup! I only gave it four stars because I made some changes. I only used 1 cup of rice and I cooked the rice in 2 cups of chicken stock. I cooked the chicken in a pan with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Then, I drained the fat and used the same pan with a little olive oil and butter to saute the vegetables with a little salt and pepper just until the onions are soft but the celery still has a little bite left in it. Then, I added the rice, chicken, and vegetables all into a large soup pot together. I added in some chicken stock and milk. (Probably about 6-8 cups of liquid all together) I made the roux in the same pan that I had cooked the chicken and veggies. I only used 1/2 a cup of butter and 1/2 a cup of flour. I added a few cups of milk to this and cooked until thick. Then, I added the roux into the soup pot, stirred in some minced garlic and some herbs and seasonings and simmered it for about 30 - 45 minutes and then added a little more milk towards the end to get the right thickness. It turned out delicious! Very flavorful and just the right consistency. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Love this recipe, it does make alot of rice, so I freeze half of it after it's made and use for soup the next time, it works great. My kids love this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I will skip the flour though, this became so thick I had to double the amount of milk. I added garlic, peas, and carrots and left the salt out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
After reading a few reviews I made the following changes: 1 cup rice, all chicken broth, 1/2 cup butter, only 4 cups milk, sauteed the veggies with garlic, and cooked for 45 initial minutes. It was a good basic recipe. Nice change from chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
After reading a few reviews I made the following changes: 1 cup rice, all chicken brother, 1/2 cup butter, only 4 cups milk, sauteed the veggies with garlic, and cooked for 45 initial minutes. It was a good basic recipe. Nice change from chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a good recipe. It's summer now, but I plan on making this one a few times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
so easy to make and I didn't even have leftover chicken or rice to start. My kids loved it and my husband who is not a big soup lover liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mielke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This soup is delicious! I was a little skeptical at first but we can't get enough of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really nice treat, very very rick, maybe only make for company for 1st course in small quantity so you can enjoy it w/o the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Delicious! It is very thick and you can certainly thin it with milk if you like. Adding garlic, as others suggested, really made it great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States