Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was REALLY yummy! With one cup of butter how could it not be? LOL! However, I did substitute 1/2 cup of butter with 1/2 cup of Smart Balance. I also added carrots and used only water instead of broth. I cooked the onions, carrots and celery for a few minutes before adding the rice and water. I then added 3 chicken thighs and let them cook in the water. I had to add addtl water and ended up only using 4 cups of milk. I loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I had a hard time reviewing this recipe. I liked the "soup" I thought it had a good taste after seasoning, but it was not soup at all! I added a whole 36oz of chicken broth and it was still so thick! Next time I will use less rice and do as another reviewer said and only use 1 tbsp of flour. This could have been served as a side dish, but not soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought this was a pretty good basic recipe for chicken rice soup. Here are my chenges: only 1 C white rice, no water - used all chix broth, added carrots and 2 Tbls. Old Bay toward the end. I also sauteed the veggies in butter/oil first before adding the broth - this gave it a great "cooked all day" taste. This soup gets very thick, very fast, so be mindful how much flour/milk you are adding. I will make again with these adjustments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This worked out really well. We eat mostly vegan so I sub'd the milk with soy milk (plain flavor), chicken with tofu and everything worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mika Devoux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
this was very yummy! turned out more like a casserole even after adding lots of extra water. Next time I plan on adding only 1 tbs of flour. I also added carrots and garlic, 1 cup of rice, and more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was really good. I did make a few changes to add some flavor as some reviews had suggested. I cut the rice in half and replaced the water with chicken broth. I also added 1 cup finely chopped mushrooms and 1 clove garlic to onion and sauted then added rice and broth as well as 1 cup finely chopped carrot. Then followed the recipe from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Made this for our family Christmas get together. Made pretty much as directed except only used 1 cup white rice, added garlic and carrots and added A LOT of seasonings. I roasted my chicken in the oven after marinading in an herb mixture and that added to the flavor of the soup somewhat. I would definitely make this again due the creaminess - real comfort food. But I need to work on the seasoning to get the flavor I want. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Make sure to add fresh garlic or garlic salt and a lot of pepper or else you will have a bland starchy soup. This was just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this, and even made adjustments to lighten it up. I used half the amount of butter and 1% milk. It still ended up being very rich. I used half the amount of rice. I also only simmered it for 15 minutes instead of an hour, and thought it was fine. I recommend seasoning the chicken well before cooking it...I used salt, pepper, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a great soup. Very tasty and hearty. The only drawback for me was the lack of color... I know it shouldn't be important so long as it tastes great, but a bit of carrot or peppers as others suggested (I should have read all the reviews) would have helped the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States