Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this, and even made adjustments to lighten it up. I used half the amount of butter and 1% milk. It still ended up being very rich. I used half the amount of rice. I also only simmered it for 15 minutes instead of an hour, and thought it was fine. I recommend seasoning the chicken well before cooking it...I used salt, pepper, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was a great soup. Very tasty and hearty. The only drawback for me was the lack of color... I know it shouldn't be important so long as it tastes great, but a bit of carrot or peppers as others suggested (I should have read all the reviews) would have helped the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It looks just like the picture. It was very creamy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This was fabulous. I read the review from Heidi's sister-in-law and there were a few errors in her ingredients. SHe said to use only 1/2 cup of rice not 2 cups.I did alter the ingredients somewhat to make enough for leftovers. I certainly will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Good taste but really stodgy. Probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I was happy to find this recipe, especially since I hate the wild rice versions. I did have to keep adding seasonings and it never was just right but overall I would make this again with some adjustments. I did add 1 cup of chopped carrott which I will increase to 1 1/2 - 2 C next time along with the celery and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was very good! I used garlic flavored chicken broth, as well as adding a little extra garlic for more flavor. Used only 1/2 c rice as suggested - great way to use up leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A good basic recipe, a few changes make it great. Saute the chicken in olive oil, set aside the chicken, then saute the celery, onion, cut up mushrooms and 2-3 garlic gloves, just until tender. Followed the recipe after that, although I cut back the amount of rice to 1 cup. Added some freshly chopped parsley and a few sprinkles of Old Bay Seasoning a few minutes before serving. Sprinkled some freshly grated parmesan cheese onto each bowl at time of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Yummy! I used a packet of Lipton long grain and wild rice with seasonings for the rice - the soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I have been looking for a soup that's good enough I would pay money for it and I finally found it! I didn't change too much; instead of simmering the celery, etc. in broth and water, I used 4 cups of water and 4 tsp of chicken base. I also seasoned with Tony Cachere and some good garlic salt. It did get a little bit thick so I just prepared another cup of broth and added it before serving. Went over very well in my house. Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States