Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
No sherry. Too sweet. Needs spices like thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I think it could of used some garlic and shredded carrots but otherwise it is a very good soup and i'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F9foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yum! Great soup. I made a small change. I used less roux, only 4.5 tbs flour and butter and maybe a cup of half and half and a few cups water. I didn't want it overly thick. I sauteed onions, carrots, celery in butter before adding water and bouillon (Better than Bouillon brand). I cooked white rice separate and added to the soup with chicken and roux. I poached my chicken in a separate pot as they were still slightly frozen. Great soup on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was really good. I only gave it 4 stars for not following the whole recipe. I'm not into creamy soups (too much fat), so I used water to make the roux. It came out really well. I did 2 cups brown rice (it's a lot, but we love rice), chicken that I first browned in olive oil, onion, garlic, carrots, peas, and corn (per my son's request). I added lots of spices and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Simple and tasty! A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I loved this recipe, my husband thought it was good, my son thought it was ok and my daughter thought it was disgusting. LOL :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
YES. This was everything I wanted it to be: thick, creamy, filling, flavorful comfort food. My modifications: I sauteed the onion, celery, a chopped carrot, and a sprinkle of garlic powder in butter before boiling with the rice. Used vegetable broth instead of chicken (since I had an open carton in the fridge) and low-sodium chicken broth instead of water. Added a second bouillon cube. I would have added the last 2 cups of milk, bit I ran out (oops!) so it was thick like chicken pie filling. Doesn't matter, because it was amazing and I ran out of room in my large pot anyway. I can always add extra milk to the leftovers. Speaking of which... the recipe says it serves 8. 8 whats? Lumberjacks? Even with hearty appetites, I have tons left. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I'll certainly make this again, if I ever run out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe.....might try some heavy cream and a small amount of cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
So good! Great for a cold wintry day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
wow, this is great as is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States