Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is a good base recipe, but I agree with many of the other negative reviews. It needs only half the rice and half the roux. I also had to add a ton more chicken granules, lots of extra broth, extra milk, and garlic salt. I do still prefer this base to many of the other options because of its simplicity. It just needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious! Like most, I altered it a bit, both due to comments and because...well, my pantry needs restocking! ;) Sounds like a lot, but I think overall flavor not altered much except more seasoning. Flavor was amazing and would not have changed this much if I had everything on hand. For example, I had no fresh celery, so I threw in a small handful of celery seed...no problem, tastes great! Had no Cream of Chicken Soup...so MADE MY OWN from recipes readily available online (this likely made it better!). Used about 1/3 c. butter only, but again soup was so yummy, so this didn't hurt and saved some fat and calories. Use MORE CHICKEN BOUILLON than called for, only 1 c. brown rice, and ALL SIX CUPS MILK! And substituted my fresh chicken's broth for the water. This is the most amazing stuff ever! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra in TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My kids love this. It makes a lot , so they just heat it up and eat it when they are hungry. I add some garlic powder for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This turned out so nice. It was creamy and rich and hit the spot on a night I wasn't feeling well. I threw the leftovers in the freezer for another night and I can't wait. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
use half the amount of rice called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
No sherry. Too sweet. Needs spices like thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I think it could of used some garlic and shredded carrots but otherwise it is a very good soup and i'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F9foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yum! Great soup. I made a small change. I used less roux, only 4.5 tbs flour and butter and maybe a cup of half and half and a few cups water. I didn't want it overly thick. I sauteed onions, carrots, celery in butter before adding water and bouillon (Better than Bouillon brand). I cooked white rice separate and added to the soup with chicken and roux. I poached my chicken in a separate pot as they were still slightly frozen. Great soup on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was really good. I only gave it 4 stars for not following the whole recipe. I'm not into creamy soups (too much fat), so I used water to make the roux. It came out really well. I did 2 cups brown rice (it's a lot, but we love rice), chicken that I first browned in olive oil, onion, garlic, carrots, peas, and corn (per my son's request). I added lots of spices and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Simple and tasty! A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States