Creamy Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Nice and simple. I chopped the broccoli in the food processor to disguise it from my 1 yr old - he gobbled it up! I also used ground turkey rather than chicken & halved the recipe. This is great for kids but nothing special for we grownups who prefer something with a little more zing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Easy and good mid-week dinner. I hate making changes before reviewing a recipe, but I had to use fresh chicken breast. I diced the breast and browned it, then I added the broccoli and followed the recipe from there. I don't think there is a need to use two skillets, one worked fine for me. I also chopped the broccoli in the food processor, and I used more than called for. I didn't add the chili pepper, but I did use the sour cream. My picky 5-year-old ate it and my husband finished the leftovers the next day. I suggest adding fresh garlic. Next time I'm going to add celery and garlic with the chicken, and add carrots with the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Pretty good. I used cooked chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I found this recipe very bland. I even dressed up whole chicken breasts and then shredded before adding to pasta. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I had a hard time figuring out how I would rate this recipe. What I came up with is that it was way too much work to end up with a plain ole pasta and chicken dish. My husband and I both liked it and we will be eating the huge amount of leftovers. We liked the spice but thought it might need some lime juice to finish the flavor. I also like the sorta low-fat easy sauce in the recipe, which I might use as a base for other recipes. Here's my main problem with the recipe- I make casseroles to cut down on cooking steps, casseroles are supposed to cook in the oven. This recipe still has you cook everything and then combine it and broil. I may as well have just eaten it out of the bowl once I mixed it all together, since it was already hot and everything was fully cooked. I sprinkled it with bread crumbs to make it more crispy, which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Found this recipe pretty bland. The next day it was even worse, it had no taste at all. Maybe doubling the amount of chicken broth/milk would have helped. It just wasn't creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Three stars as written (for the sheer heart-attack-waiting-to-happen-ness of it), a big FIVE STARS with alterations! As far as the sauce goes... I skipped the butter and reduced the oil by at least half. I used less cheese than called for and split the cheese between mozarella and parmesan and used some red chili pepper flakes to spice it up. When it was time to add the sauce to the rest, I had to add a little more broth and milk to get the right consistency, but it tasted great, regardless. So far as the bulk of the recipe, I used tri-color veggie rotini, ground turkey, again FAR less oil than called for, and added in four cloves of garlic. My biggest change? For me, it remained a skillet casserole only! I did not take the final step of pouring it in a pan, adding even MORE cheese, and sticking it under the broiler. That step is simply unnecessary as it should be absolutely delicious straight from the frypan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Good base for a recipe but here are the changes that we made as it was rather bland. We added 2 sachets of chicken boullion, about 1/2 tablespoon oregano and 1/2 a tablespoon basil. With those changes it was great and we will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
After reading all that goes into this recipe, I found that it was too much work for chicken and pasta. Anyways, i added some diced shrimp, took away the onions,sour cream, made it with fresh chopped chicken breast and instead of chicken broth added one half of a chicken boullion for more flavor. My family loved this dish, was out of the kitchen in 30 minutes. Thanks to the author of this recipe, it is interesting, i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
After reading the reviews here, I added a teaspoon each of basil and oregano to the cheese sauce/broccoli mixture, and about 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder. I also added a clove of crushed garlic to the chicken/onion mixture as it cooked, and used about 1/2 cup of onion instead of 1/4 cup. It tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States