Creamy Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
It's refreshing to find a recipe that doesn't call for canned soup. Thank you. We haven't tried this recipe yet, we will let you know when we do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
At first glance I was going to this recipe exactly as it was, but after reading the reviews, changed it completly. I browned the chicken first, then added an entire diced onion, brocolli and diced red pepper. To that I added the chicken brother and a tsp of thyme and garlic salt. I covered and let simmer. Once brocolli was al dente I added about 1/2 cup of parmesan and about 1/4 cup of cream cheese, let simmer and thicken. Then I tossed it with egg noodles and shredded cheddar and baked till heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Humboldt, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe is a great start for an easy casserole. I did alter the recipe a bit in that I cut it in half (as it's was just for me!) and I added cut up fresh carrots to add some more veggies and nutrition. Also, I only used one pan, cooked the meat first and put it aside. I did add some garlic to the chicken as others suggested and I added some dried basil and rosemary along with some chili powder to the sauce. I put crushed up ritz crackers on the top along with a little extra cheese. I also used smart balance instead of oil or butter and cut down on the amount significantly probably only using about 4 teaspoons in the entire recipe. I used skim milk, low sodium chicken broth, and stirred about 2 tablespoons of light sour cream directly into the sauce in the pan which worked well. Next time I'll make more sauce...I made more than called for while cutting the recipe in half but it would be a bit better with a little more sauce. If you only use one skillet, make sure not to leave the veggies in to long so they don't get overdone, especially if you put it in the oven, which I highly recommend so you get that hot bubbly casserole still, although you could certainly eat it without. The oven time was perfect for clean up. Over all a good recipe I'll definitely make again. A nice homemade version similar to a Campbell's casserole recipe. I'd definitely recommend and a recipe that is easy to alter to anyones liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was yummy... I just added more cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
my kid thought this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
both my husband and I loved it...and my husband normally hates my cooking =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was a tasty recipe that my 20-month old loved! However, I did feel it lacked that extra zing. I didn't read any of the reviews before making it. Next time I'll add more seasoning to the mix, but overall it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana
Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Way more work than it was worth. I appreciate the homemade sauce (rather than just using a much less healthy canned cheddar broccoli soup), but in the end it was uninspiring and neither of my kids would touch it. If I wanted a dinner that only my husband and I would eat, I'd have made something much more exotic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is tasty. =) I did add garlic powder for a little kick and it seems to need something else too, but overall, I really like it. I can't stand it when food is over-salted, but make sure to add enough salt and pepper in this recipe since the sour cream tends to absorb alot of flavor. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used more brocolli and less oil/butter in this recipes to make it a little healthier. It was good, but not great. I would make it again though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States