Creamy Chicken Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
WOW my 3 year old and 6 year old loved this even my picky husband with soup ate 3 helpings. I did change a little made my roux first after sauting the onions and garlic together then slowly added the broth. then followed recipe and added frozen peas and corn and little round noodles. Awsome only used half of the ranch dressing but gave a great flavor. thanks will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very flavorful. Even worked with "veggie shreds" instead of cheese for those who may be lactose intolerant and are missing the creamy soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
We love this. I left out the potatoes and green beans, added peas and thickened to gravy consistency, used boneless, skinless thighs well trimmed and served over mashed potatoes. It was delicious. I have also tried it without the cheese and think it's even better. Thank you Okie for a wonderful, versatile recipe that doesn't include canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great soup. Halved recipe & made my own broth by boiling chicken breasts with a bullion cube, some parsley flakes and dash of garlic powder. I made the roux in the pan with the sauteed veggies and like other reviewers was not satisfied with the thickness of the soup, so I added a few tsp of cornstarch. I also used about half of the cheese and ranch mix as was recommended and it had great flavor. Will def. be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS soup. Just so everyone knows I submitted this recipe some years ago. I submitted the recipe stating thicken to your own taste and/or preference using roux and described how to make roux. I make it as a chowder and pretty thick, however some people don't like it as thick as I do. Thus the choice in the recipe. It has irritated me forever that many of the comments say the soup is not thick enough as written. This is because it is not written verbatim as I wrote it, you can make it as thick or thin as you want to. The flavors are what the recipe is about, as with all soups. You can make any soup into a chowder by thickening it with roux. When I make a roux I keep on thickening whatever I have made until it as thick as I like it. I love this soup/chowder and make it every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe tonight and it turned out great. Based on the other reviews on the thickness I decided to change it up just a little. I added a little extra flour to the base as well as a little milk to thicken it up. It turned out perfect and was fairly easy to make. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Impressively good soup. I followed the directions exactly except I thickened with 1 tbs. cornstarch instead of the roux. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious soup with great flavor. I would definately call it a "soup" rather than a "chowder" because it is a thin soup. I added some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This soup had a very good flavor, but was a little on the thin side. I will thicken it more if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delicious! Made it without the red pepper flakes, as we have small children, and worried it would be to spicy. Still great. Added the soup to the roux instead of other way around. Made extra roux which we put into the soup after the first batch. I used 1 1/2# of chicken as we have 6 people. Also increased ranch to 1 1/2 oz, and cheese to 3/4-1# (the extra 1/4 didn't seem to make that much of a difference). Threw in some half & half for extra richness. Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States