Creamy Chicken Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very flavorful. Even worked with "veggie shreds" instead of cheese for those who may be lactose intolerant and are missing the creamy soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Not bad, not bad at all. I would've preferred the roux to make the chowder a bit more thick, but all in all not bad for a Wed night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
WOW my 3 year old and 6 year old loved this even my picky husband with soup ate 3 helpings. I did change a little made my roux first after sauting the onions and garlic together then slowly added the broth. then followed recipe and added frozen peas and corn and little round noodles. Awsome only used half of the ranch dressing but gave a great flavor. thanks will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Delicious. I didn't change a thing. I would certainly make this again. Great recipe, thanks OKIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
We love this. I left out the potatoes and green beans, added peas and thickened to gravy consistency, used boneless, skinless thighs well trimmed and served over mashed potatoes. It was delicious. I have also tried it without the cheese and think it's even better. Thank you Okie for a wonderful, versatile recipe that doesn't include canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
First off I didn't realize what a huge batch this made. I should at least half the serving sizes next time. But let me just say that this, while being a thinner chowder, was one of the most delicious things I've made. The leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great soup. Halved recipe & made my own broth by boiling chicken breasts with a bullion cube, some parsley flakes and dash of garlic powder. I made the roux in the pan with the sauteed veggies and like other reviewers was not satisfied with the thickness of the soup, so I added a few tsp of cornstarch. I also used about half of the cheese and ranch mix as was recommended and it had great flavor. Will def. be making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Delicious! Made it without the red pepper flakes, as we have small children, and worried it would be to spicy. Still great. Added the soup to the roux instead of other way around. Made extra roux which we put into the soup after the first batch. I used 1 1/2# of chicken as we have 6 people. Also increased ranch to 1 1/2 oz, and cheese to 3/4-1# (the extra 1/4 didn't seem to make that much of a difference). Threw in some half & half for extra richness. Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Impressively good soup. I followed the directions exactly except I thickened with 1 tbs. cornstarch instead of the roux. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe tonight and it turned out great. Based on the other reviews on the thickness I decided to change it up just a little. I added a little extra flour to the base as well as a little milk to thicken it up. It turned out perfect and was fairly easy to make. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States