Creamy Chicken Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent, simple recipe! I omitted the potatoes and just added peas but otherwise followed the recipe. Have made several times now...a staple in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious. I think the recipie is missing something, though, as it doesn't call for cooked chicken and it doesn't tell you to cook the chickne for more than 5 minutes. Maybe I am missing something. To resolve this, I cooked the chicken with the potatoes and followed the directions otherwise. Get some good sourdough bread for dipping. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe!!! My extremely picky boyfriend said he absolutely loved it (and he never says that about ANYTHING) ! Made it exactly as written except I doubled the cheese and I didn't have a bell pepper so I used zucchini instead. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kierakaitou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Wow! Such great flavor. I "healthafied" by using 1.5 cup shredded cheddar with 2T whole wheat flour and 1T corn starch mix into the flour before putting it in the soup. This was my thickener. No butter. 1.5 packets of ranch because I already had one open. So flavorful! Husband lived it too!! Already added to the cook book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Tasty, simple, and inexpensive. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Makes more than six servings -- more like 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS soup. Just so everyone knows I submitted this recipe some years ago. I submitted the recipe stating thicken to your own taste and/or preference using roux and described how to make roux. I make it as a chowder and pretty thick, however some people don't like it as thick as I do. Thus the choice in the recipe. It has irritated me forever that many of the comments say the soup is not thick enough as written. This is because it is not written verbatim as I wrote it, you can make it as thick or thin as you want to. The flavors are what the recipe is about, as with all soups. You can make any soup into a chowder by thickening it with roux. When I make a roux I keep on thickening whatever I have made until it as thick as I like it. I love this soup/chowder and make it every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious soup with great flavor. I would definately call it a "soup" rather than a "chowder" because it is a thin soup. I added some cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parothstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This soup had a very good flavor, but was a little on the thin side. I will thicken it more if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe tonight and it turned out great. Based on the other reviews on the thickness I decided to change it up just a little. I added a little extra flour to the base as well as a little milk to thicken it up. It turned out perfect and was fairly easy to make. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Impressively good soup. I followed the directions exactly except I thickened with 1 tbs. cornstarch instead of the roux. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States