Creamy Chicken Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this with some leftover turkey from thanksgiving. It's a good base, though I did make some changes to give it more flavor. First I sauteed a small yellow onion, celery and garlic in a small amount of butter; increased the amount of thyme to 1 tsp. and added a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I also increased the amount of chicken stock and added a little heavy cream because I didn't have more half n half to add and as I used a larger size pkg. of tortellini it needed more liquid. I did cut the cream of chicken soup down to one can because I didn't want it to taste like canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
bland plus way too much liquid. Didn't have spinach so substituted peas and carrots (which didn't do too much for it). It definitely needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizemjw
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was so good! I liked the amount of spinach. I pan fried my chicken first with olive oil and then added it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizemjw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
For one, I cut the spinach to about half. It was just too much. I also use more veggies- carrots, mushrooms, celery, onion (as much as you like) along with minced garlic. I cook all of those together in the chicken broth until tender, then mix into the soup. I have 3 kids ages 15, 12 &5 and they all love this recipe. With a little doctoring, I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very good. When I make this again I will add more chicken broth and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this with the help of the first review but didn't add as much pepper as she suggested. This recipe is WONDERFUL. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I loved how easy this was to make! I have a picky eater at home too and he loved it!! I have even tweaked this recipe and used Italian sausage instead of the chicken and left out the spinach. I still prefer your original recipe best. Awesome dinner with garlic breadsticks... Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mizlisa19
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Cooked chicken in olive oil and garlic, onion powder, salt and pepper instead of boiling bc I thought it would be too bland. Boiled the tortellini in double broth w broccoli bc I didn't have spinach. Used 1 can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom for flavor mix. Added Italian seasoning and more onion powder. Had heavy cream so cut it with 1% milk. Didn't use two cups though and I used double the pasta. Very good base for the soup. This turned out yummy. Used tri color pasta for color. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizlisa19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this different enough that normally I wouldn't have even reviewed it, but I wanted to show just how versatile this recipe is. I used tilapia rather than chicken (seasoned with Old Bay), peas rather than spinach, and I used a full tsp of thyme and pepper plus added garlic and onion powder to taste, and a tiny bit of red pepper. Turned out just delicious! So use it as a base and experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Nothing special about this. Even though the recipe itself was very simple, it took a long time for the cooking process. Didn't have much flavor. Should have added garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States